Tag Archives: Muscle Shoals Sound Studios

On January 11, 1974.

On January 11, 1974, “United Artists” label released “Lookin’ for a Love Again”, the sixth Bobby Womack studio album. It was recorded in 1973, at “Muscle Shoals Sound Studios” in  Muscle Shoals, Alabama, and was produced by Bobby Womack.


  • Bobby Womack – vocals, guitar, string arrangements
  • Pete Carr, Rhino Rheinardt, Tippy Armstrong – guitar
  • Jimmy Johnson- rhythm guitar
  • David Hood– bass
  • Barry Beckett, Clayton Ivey, Truman Thomas – keyboards
  • Roger Hawkins– drums
  • Friendly Womack, Jr., Curtis Womack, Cecil Womack, Harry Womack- background vocals
  • René Hall- string arrangements
  • Gregg Hamm, Jerry Masters, Karat Faye – engineer
  • John Kehe, Ria Lewerke – design

Track listing

All tracks by Bobby Womack; except where noted.

  1. Lookin’ for a Love – James Alexander, Zelda Samuels
  2. I Don’t Wanna Be Hurt by Ya Love Again
  3. Doing it My Way
  4. Let it Hang Out
  5. Point of No Return – Jim Ford
  6. You’re Welcome, Stop on By – Bobby Womack, Truman Thomas
  7. You’re Messing Up a Good Thing – Clayton Ivey, Frank Johnson, Terry Woodford
  8. Don’t Let me Down – Truman Thomas
  9. Copper Kettle – Albert Frank Beddoe
  10. There’s One Thing That Beats Failing – Bobby Womack, Truman Thomas

In February 1972.


In February 1972, “Island” label released “Oh How We Danced”, the debut Jim Capaldi solo studio album. It was recorded in December 1971, at “Muscle Shoals Sound Studios”, and was produced by Jim Capaldi and Chris Blackwell.


  • Jim Capaldi – lead vocals, piano, acoustic guitar, Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section
  • David Hood– bass
  • Roger Hawkins– drums
  • Barry Beckett- piano, organ
  • Jimmy Johnson- electric guitar
  • Paul Kossoff- electric guitar
  • Dave Mason- harmonica, electric guitar
  • Steve Winwood- organ, backing vocal, guitar
  • Chris Wood- flute, electric saxophone
  • Ric Grech- bass
  • Jim Gordon- drums
  • Rebop Kwaku Baah- percussion, congas
  • Trevor Burton- bass
  • Mike Kellie- drums
  • Bob Griffin – piano
  • Sunny Leslie- backing vocal
  • Brian Humphries, Jerry Masters – engineer
  • Neal Preston – cover photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Jim Capaldi, except where noted.

  1. Eve
  2. Big Thirst – Jim Capaldi, Dave Mason
  3. Love is All You Can Try
  4. Last Day of Dawn
  5. Don’t be a Hero
  6. Open Your Heart
  7. How Much Can a Man Really Take?
  8. Anniversary Song – Saul Chaplin, Al Jolson

On May 5, 1978.


On May 5, 1978, “Capitol” label released “Stranger in Town”, the tenth Bob Seger studio album. It was his second album with the Silver Bullet Band. It was recorded 1976 – 1978, at “Criteria Sound Studios” in Miami; “Muscle Shoals Sound Studios” in Sheffield, Alabama; “Cherokee Studios”,” Capitol Records Studios”, “Sound Suite Studios” in Detroit, and was produced by Bob Seger and Punch Andrews. The album was certified being certified six times Platinum in US by the “RIIA”.


  • Bob Seger- guitar, vocals
  • Drew Abbott- guitar
  • Robyn Robbins- keyboard
  • Alto Reed- alto saxophone
  • Chris Campbell -bass
  • David Teegarden – percussion, drums
  • Barry Beckett- keyboard
  • Pete Carr– guitar
  • Jimmy Johnson– guitar
  • David Hood– bass
  • Roger Hawkins- percussion, drums
  • Glenn Frey- guitar solo
  • Don Felder- guitar solo
  • Bill Payne- organ, synthesizer, piano, keyboards
  • Doug Riley – piano, keyboard
  • Venetta Fields- vocals, background vocals
  • Clydie King- vocals, background vocals
  • Sherlie Matthews- vocals, background vocals
  • Julia Waters – background vocals
  • Luther Waters – vocals, background vocals
  • Maxine Waters – background vocals
  • Oren Waters – vocals, background vocals
  • Brandye – vocals, background vocals
  • James Lavell Easley – background vocals
  • Stanley Carter – background vocals
  • George Jackson – vocals, background vocals
  • Jim Ed Norman- strings arranged and conducted by
  • Engineers: John Arrias, Mark Calice, David Cole, Hugh Davies, Gregg Hamm, Steve Melton, George Tutko
  • Mixing: Punch Andrews, John Arrias, Bob Seger
  • Mastering: Wally Traugott
  • Remastering: Robert Vosgien
  • String arrangements:Jim Ed Norman
  • Art direction: Roy Kohara
  • Design: Ken Anderson
  • Photography: Terrence Bert, Bob Siedemann

Track listing:

All tracks by Bob Seger, except where noted.

  1. Hollywood Nights
  2. Still the Same
  3. Old Time Rock and Roll – George Jackson, Thomas E. Jones III, Bob Seger
  4. Till It Shines
  5. Feel Like a Number
  6. Ain’t Got No Money” – Frankie Miller
  7. We’ve Got Tonite
  8. Brave Strangers
  9. The Famous Final Scene