In April 1957.

In April 1957, “Columbia” label released “Jay and Kai”, album by J. J. Johnson and Kai Winding. It was recorded in November 1955, July – December 17, 1956, and January 1957 in New York City.


  • J. J. Johnson – trombone, trombonium 
  • Kai Winding – trombone, trombonium
  • Wayne Andre, Carl Fontana – trombone
  • Dick Leib – bass trombone 
  • Bobby Jaspar – tenor saxophone
  • Roy Frazee, Hank Jones, Dick Katz – piano
  • Bill Crow, Percy Heath, Milt Hinton, Kenny O’Brien – bass
  • Kenny Clarke, Jack Franklin, Elvin Jones, Shadow Wilson – drums
  • Candido Camero – bongos

Track listing:

  1. You’d Be So Nice to Come Home To – Cole Porter
  2. Caribe – Kai Winding
  3. Happiness Is a Thing Called Joe – Harold Arlen, Yip Harburg
  4. The Song Is You – Jerome Kern, Oscar Hammerstein II
  5. In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning – David Mann, Bob Hilliard
  6. Yes, You – Dick Leib
  7. Tromboniums in Motion – J. J. Johnson
  8. How High the Moon – Morgan Lewis, Nancy Hamilton
  9. Violets for Your Furs – Matt Dennis, Tom Adair
  10. Too Close for Comfort – Jerry Bock, George David Weiss, Larry Holofcener
  11. ‘S Wonderful – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin
  12. I Should Care – Axel Stordahl, Paul Weston, Sammy Cahn

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.