Tag Archives: Tom Salisbury

In July 1972.

In July 1972, “Warner Bros” label released “Saint Dominic’s Preview”, the sixth Van Morrison studio album. It was recorded 1971 – 1972, at “Wally Heider Studios”, “Pacific High Studios” in San Francisco, “The Church” in San Anselmo, California,  and was produced by Ted Templeman and Van Morrison.


  • Van Morrison— vocals, acoustic, rhythm and twelve string guitar, backing vocals, arrangements
  • Jules Broussard — tenor saxophone, flute
  • Lee Charlton — drums
  • Bill Church— bass
  • Ron Elliott— acoustic guitar
  • “Boots” Houston — tenor saxophone, backing vocals
  • Mark Jordan — piano
  • Connie Kay— drums
  • Bernie Krause— Moog synthesizer
  • Gary Mallaber— drums, percussion, vibraphone
  • John McFee— steel guitar
  • Doug Messenger — electric and acoustic guitars
  • Ronnie Montrose— acoustic guitar, backing vocals
  • Mark Naftalin— piano, Moog synthesizer
  • Pat O’Hara — trombone
  • Janet Planet — backing vocals
  • Tom Salisbury — piano, organ
  • Rick Shlosser- drums
  • Ellen Schroer — backing vocals
  • Jack Schroer— alto and baritone saxophones
  • Mark Springer — backing vocals
  • Leroy Vinnegar— double bass
  • Engineers: Donn Landee, Bob Schumaker, Jim Gaines, Dave Brown, Steve Brandon
  • Mixing: Donn Landee, Bob Schumaker
  • Photography: Michael Maggid
  • Arrangements – Tom Salisbury
  • Remastering – Tim Young, Walter Samuel

Track listing:

All tracks by Van Morrison.

  1. Jackie Wilson Said (I’m in Heaven When You Smile)
  2. Gypsy
  3. I Will Be There
  4. Listen to the Lion
  5. Saint Dominic’s Preview
  6. Redwood Tree
  7. Almost Independence Day





In May 1975.

In May 1975, “ABC/Blue Thumb” label released “Steppin’”, the third Pointer Sisters studio album. It was recorded in 1975, at “Wally Heider Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by David Rubinson & Friends, Inc..


  • Anita Pointer, Ruth Pointer, Bonnie Pointer, June Pointer– vocals
  • Tom Salisbury – piano
  • Gaylord Birch– drums, percussion
  • Chris Michie – guitar
  • Eugene Santini – bass
  • Wah Wah Watson– guitar
  • Herbie Hancock– clavinet
  • Bill Summers– percussion
  • Paul Jackson– bass
  • Jim Rothermel – clavinet
  • Stevie Wonder– electric piano
  • Fred Catero – recording engineer
  • Fred Catero, David Rubinson – re-mix engineers
  • Jeremy Zatkin – recording engineer
  • George Horn, Phil Brown – mastering engineers
  • Tom Salisbury – arrangement
  • Allyn Ferguson – arrangement
  • Ken Welch, Mitzie Welch – treatment

Track listing:

  1. How Long (Betcha’ Got a Chick on the Side) – Anita Pointer, Bonnie Pointer, David Rubinson
  2. Sleeping Alone – Stevie Wonder
  3. Easy Days – Isaac Hayes, Anita Pointer, Bonnie Pointer, June Pointer
  4. Chainey Do – Willie McTell, Taj Mahal
  5. I Ain’t Got Nothin’ But the Blues – A Medley in Tribute to Duke Ellington” (I Ain’t Got Nothin’ But the Blues / Rocks in My Bed / Creole Love Song / Satin Doll / I Got It Bad (and That Ain’t Good) / Mood Indigo) – Duke Ellington, Don George/ Ellington / Ellington, Bruce Good / Ellington, Johnny Mercer, Billy Strayhorn / Ellington, Paul Francis Webster / Ellington, Irving Mills, Barney Bigard
  6. Save the Bones for Henry Jones – Danny Barker, Vernon Lee
  7. Wanting Things – Hal David, Burt Bacharach
  8. Going Down Slowly – Allen Toussaint


In May 1973.

In May 1973, “Blue Thumb” label released the debut, self-titled Pointer Sisters album. It was recorded in 1973, at “Wally Heider Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by David Rubinson & Friends, Inc.


  • Anita Pointer, Ruth Pointer, Bonnie Pointer, June Pointer– vocals
  • Gaylord Birch– drums
  • Tom Salisbury– piano
  • Ron McClure– acoustic bass, electric bass
  • Willie Fulton– electric guitar
  • Ed Marshall– drums Rod Ellicott – bass
  • Norman Landsberg– piano
  • The Hoodoo Rhythm Devils– backing band
  • David Rubinson& Friends, Inc. mix-down engineer
  • Norman Landsberg – associate producer
  • Fred Catero, Jeremy Zatkin– recording engineers, mix-down engineers
  • George Horne– mastering engineer
  • B. Greene– portraiture, design

Track listing:

  1. Yes We Can Can – Allen Toussaint
  2. Cloudburst – Leroy Kirkland, Jimmy Harris
  3. Jada – Pointer Sisters, Bruce Good, Jeff Cohen
  4. River Boulevard – Barbara Mauritz
  5. Old Songs – John Shine, Bruce Good
  6. That’s How I Feel – Wilton Felder
  7. Sugar – Pointer Sisters
  8. Pains and Tears – Norman Landsberg
  9. Naked Foot – Neal Tate
  10. Wang Dang Doodle – Willie Dixon

In February 1974.


In February 1974, “Blue Thumb” label released “That’s a Plenty”, the second Pointer Sisters album. It was recorded in 1973, at “Wally Heider Studios” in San Frabcisco; “Quadraphonic Studios” in Nashville, and “Western Recording Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by David Rubinson & Friends, Inc.


  • Anita Pointer, Ruth Pointer, Bonnie Pointer, June Pointer– vocals
  • Gaylord Birch– drums
  • John Neumann – bass
  • Tom Salisbury – keyboards, silverton accordion
  • David Grisman– mandolin
  • Herbie Hancock– piano, electric piano, clavinet, arp synthesizer
  • Ron McClure– bass
  • Bonnie Raitt– slide guitar
  • Jack Viertell, Jesse Ed Davis– electric guitar
  • Paul Jackson– bass
  • Harry “Sweets” Edison– trumpet
  • Britt Woodman– trombone
  • John Shine – guitar
  • Jim Rothermel – clarinet
  • Floyd Cooley – tuba
  • Gordon Messick – trombone
  • James Goodwin – trumpet
  • David Briggs– piano
  • Norbert Putnam– bass
  • Weldon Myrick – pedal steel guitar
  • Ken Buttrey– drums
  • Robert Thompson – acoustic guitar
  • Norman Spicher – fiddle
  • Bill Summers– African talking drum, shekere, congas
  • Tom Salisbury, Jeffrey Cohen, Bruce Good – associate producers
  • Jeremy Zatkin, Fred Catero, David Rubinson – recording engineers
  • George Horn, Phil Brown – mastering engineers
  • David Rubinson – arrangements
  • Norman Landsberg, Jeffrey Cohen, Bruce Good – vocal arrangement
  • Randy Tuten – cover art
  • Herb Greene– art direction, photography

Track listing:

  1. Bangin’ on the Pipes / Steam Heat (Medley) – Bruce Good, Jeffrey Cohen, Richard Adler, Jerry Ross
  2. Salt Peanuts – Bruce Good, Jeffrey Cohen, Dizzy Gillespie, Kenny Clarke
  3. Grinning in Your Face – Son House
  4. Shaky Flat Blues – June Pointer, Anita Pointer, Bonnie Pointer
  5. That’s a Plenty”/ Surfeit, U.S.A. (Medley) – Ray Gilbert, Lew Pollack/ Good, Cohen
  6. Little Pony – Neal Hefti, Jon Hendricks, Dave Lambert
  7. Fairytale – A.Pointer, B.Pointer
  8. Black Coffee – Paul Francis Webster, Sonny Burke
  9. Love in Them There Hills – Kenneth Gamble, Leon Huff, Roland Chambers

On January 3, 1974.

Phosphorescent Rat

On January 3, 1974, “Grunt” label released “The Phosphorescent Rat”, the fourth Hot Tuna album.  It was recorded May – October, 1973, at the “Wally Heider Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by Mallory Earl.


  • Jorma Kaukonen– vocals, guitars
  • Jack Casady– electric bass, bass balalaika
  • Sammy Piazza –drums, spoons, percussion
  • Tom Salisbury – conductor of strings and woodwinds
  • Andrew Narell – steel drums
  • Marek A. Majewski – cover design

Track listing:

All tracks by Jorma Kaukonen, except where noted

  1. I See the Light
  2. Letter to the North Star
  3. Easy Now
  4. Corners Without Exits
  5. Day to Day Out the Window Blues
  6. In the Kingdom
  7. Seeweed Strut
  8. Living Fust for You
  9. Soliloquy for 2
  10. Sally, Where’d You Get Your Liquor From? – Reverend Gary Davis