Tag Archives: CBS 30th Street Studio

In February 1976.

In February 1976, “Columbia” label released “Smile”, the sixth Laura Nyro album. It was recorded in 1975, at “CBS 30th Street Studio” in New York City, and was produced by Laura Nyro and Charlie Calello.


  • Laura Nyro – vocals, piano, guitar, wood block
  • John Tropea, Hugh McCracken, Joe Beck, Jeff Mironov, Jerry Friedman, Greg Bennett – guitar
  • Will Lee, Richard Davis, Bob Babbitt- bass
  • Chris Parker, Allan Schwartzberg, Rick Marotta- drums
  • Jimmy Maelen- tambourine, wood block
  • Nydia Mata, Carter C.C. Collins – congas
  • Rubens Bassini- shaker
  • David Friedman – vibraphone
  • Joe Farrell, Michael Brecker, George Young – saxophone
  • Randy Brecker- trumpet
  • Paul Messing – triangle
  • Nisako Yoshida, Reiko Kamota – koto
  • Don Puluse, Tim Geelan – engineer
  • Jay Messina, Lou Waxman, Stan Tonkel – assistant engineer
  • Ed Lee – artwork
  • Patty Newport – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Laura Nyro, except where noted.

  1. Sexy Mama – Al Goodman, Sylvia Robinson, Harry Ray
  2. Children of the Junks
  3. Money
  4. I Am the Blues
  5. Stormy Love
  6. The Cat Song
  7. Midnite Blue
  8. Smile

On July 30, 1969.

Miles Davis-In a Silent Way

On July 30, 1969, “Columbia” label released “In a Silent Way” album by Miles Davis. It was recorded in one session on February 18, 1969, at “CBS 30th Street Studio” in New York City, and was produced by Teo Macero. The album is regarded by fans and critics as one of Davis’s greatest and most influential works.


  • Miles Davis– trumpet
  • Wayne Shorter– soprano saxophone
  • John McLaughlin– electric guitar
  • Chick Corea– electric piano
  • Herbie Hancock– electric piano
  • Joe Zawinul– organ
  • Dave Holland– double bass
  • Tony Williams– drums
  • Original recording engineer – Stan Tonkel
  • Cover photography – Lee Friedlander
  • Back cover photography – John G. Walter
  • Back cover notes – Frank Glenn

Track listing:

  1. Shhh/Peaceful – Miles Davis
  • Shhh
  • Peaceful
  • Shhh
  1. In a Silent Way/It’s About That Time – Joe Zawinul, Miles Davis
  • In a Silent Way
  • It’s About That Time
  • In a Silent Way

On November 30, 1979.

Pink Floyd - Wall

On November 30, 1979, “Harvest” label released “The Wall”, the eleventh Pink Floyd studio album. This was the last studio album released with the lineup of David Gilmour, Roger Waters, Richard Wright and  Nick Mason. Richard Wright left the band after the release of the album. “The Wall” was recorded from December 1978 till November 1979, at the “Britannia Row”, “Super Bear Studio”, “Studio Miraval” in France, “CBS 30th Street Studio” in New York, and at the “Producers Workshop” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Bob Ezrin, David Gilmour, James Guthrie and Roger Waters. The album featured band’s only number one single “Another Brick in the Wall Part 2”, and became one of the best selling albums of 1980. By 1999 “The Wall” sold in more than 23 million copies worldwide. Magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked “The Wall” at number 87 on its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Roger Waters- bass, vocals, rhythm guitar, synthesizers, sound effects
  • David Gilmour- lead and rhythm guitars, vocals, bass, synthesizers
  • Nick Mason- drums, percussion
  • Richard Wright- piano, hammond organ, electric piano, synthesizers, bass pedals
  • Bruce Johnston– backing vocals
  • Toni Tennille– backing vocals
  • Joe Chemay – backing vocals
  • Jon Joyce – backing vocals
  • Stan Farber – backing vocals
  • Jim Haas– backing vocals
  • Children of Islington Green School– vocals
  • Bob Ezrin– piano, hammond organ, synthesizers, reed organ, backing vocals
  • James Guthrie– percussion, synthesizer, sound effects
  • Jeff Porcaro– drums
  • Joe Porcaro, Blue Ocean & 34 other – snare drums
  • Lee Ritenour– guitars
  • Joe (Ron) di Blasi – classical guitar
  • Fred Mandel– hammond organ
  • Bobbye Hall– congas, bongos
  • Frank Marrocco– concertina
  • Larry Williams – clarinet
  • Trevor Veitch – mandolin
  • New York Orchestra – orchestra
  • New York Opera – choral vocals
  • Unnamed children’s choir from New York – children’s choral vocals
  • “Vicki & Clare” – backing vocals
  • Harry Waters– child’s voice, “Goodbye Blue Sky”
  • Chris Fitzmorris – male telephone voice
  • Trudy Young – voice of the groupie
  • Phil Taylor – sound effects
  • Roger Waters – lyrics, music, co-producer
  • Bob Ezrin– production, orchestral arrangement, music on “The Trial”
  • Michael Kamen– orchestral arrangemen
  • Gerald Scarfe – sleeve design
  • Roger Waters – sleeve design

Track listing:

All tracks by Roger Waters, except where noted.

  1. In the Flash
  2. The Thin Ice – David Gilmour and Roger Waters
  3. Another Brick in the Wall (part 1)
  4. The Happiest Days of Our Lives
  5. Another Brick in the Wall (Part 2) – David Gilmour and Roger Waters
  6. Mother – David Gilmour and Roger Waters
  7. Goodbye Blue Sky
  8. Empty Spaces
  9. Young Lust – Roger Waters and David Gilmour
  10. One of My Turns
  11. Don’t Leave Me Now
  12. Another Brick in the Wall (Part 3)
  13. Goodbye Cruel World
  14. Hey You
  15. Is There Anybody Out There
  16. Nobody Home
  17. Vera
  18. Bring the Boys Back Home
  19. Comfortably Numb
  20. The Show Must Go On
  21. In the Flesh
  22. Run Like Hell – David Gilmour and Roger Waters
  23. Waiting for Worms
  24. Stop
  25. The Trial – Roger Waters and Bob Ezrin
  26. Outside the Wall