Tag Archives: Lou Waxman

In February 1976.

In February 1976, “Columbia” label released “Smile”, the sixth Laura Nyro album. It was recorded in 1975, at “CBS 30th Street Studio” in New York City, and was produced by Laura Nyro and Charlie Calello.


  • Laura Nyro – vocals, piano, guitar, wood block
  • John Tropea, Hugh McCracken, Joe Beck, Jeff Mironov, Jerry Friedman, Greg Bennett – guitar
  • Will Lee, Richard Davis, Bob Babbitt- bass
  • Chris Parker, Allan Schwartzberg, Rick Marotta- drums
  • Jimmy Maelen- tambourine, wood block
  • Nydia Mata, Carter C.C. Collins – congas
  • Rubens Bassini- shaker
  • David Friedman – vibraphone
  • Joe Farrell, Michael Brecker, George Young – saxophone
  • Randy Brecker- trumpet
  • Paul Messing – triangle
  • Nisako Yoshida, Reiko Kamota – koto
  • Don Puluse, Tim Geelan – engineer
  • Jay Messina, Lou Waxman, Stan Tonkel – assistant engineer
  • Ed Lee – artwork
  • Patty Newport – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Laura Nyro, except where noted.

  1. Sexy Mama – Al Goodman, Sylvia Robinson, Harry Ray
  2. Children of the Junks
  3. Money
  4. I Am the Blues
  5. Stormy Love
  6. The Cat Song
  7. Midnite Blue
  8. Smile

In June 1971.

In June 1971, “Columbia” label released “Blood, Sweat & Tears 4”, the fourth Blood, Sweat & Tears album. It was recorded in 1971, and was produced by Don Heckman, Bobby Colomby and Roy Halee.


  • Dave Bargeron- trombone, tuba, bass trombone, baritone horn, acoustic bass
  • David Clayton-Thomas- lead vocals except as noted; guitar
  • Bobby Colomby- drums, percussion
  • Jim Fielder- bass; guitar
  • Dick Halligan- organ, trombone, piano, flute
  • Steve Katz- electric guitar, acoustic guitar, harmonica, mandolin; lead vocals
  • Fred Lipsius- alto saxophone, piano, organ, clarinet
  • Lew Soloff- trumpet, flugelhorn, piccolo trumpet
  • Chuck Winfield- trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Don Heckman- clarinet, bass clarinet
  • Michael Smith – congas
  • Engineers: Roy Halee, Lou Waxman, Robert Honablue
  • Arrangers: Dave Bargeron, David Clayton-Thomas, Jim Fielder, Dick Halligan, Al Kooper, Fred Lipsius
  • Design, photography: Norman Seeff

Track listing:

  1. Go Down Gamblin’ – David Clayton-Thomas
  2. Cowboys and Indians – Dick Halligan, Terry Kirkman
  3. John the Baptist (Holy John) – Al Kooper, Phyllis Major
  4. Redemption – Dick Halligan, David Clayton-Thomas
  5. Lisa, Listen to Me – Dick Halligan, David Clayton-Thomas
  6. A Look to My Heart – Fred Lipsius
  7. High on a Mountain – Steve Katz
  8. Valentine’s Day – Steve Katz
  9. Take Me in Your Arms (Rock Me a Little While) – Holland-Dozier-Holland
  10. For My Lady – SteveKatz
  11. Mama Gets High – Dave Bargeron, Steve Katz
  12. A Look to My Heart – Fred Lipsius

In June 1970.

In June 1970, “Columbia” label released “Blood, Sweat & Tears 3”, the third Blood, Sweat & Tears album. It was recorded in 1970, and was produced by Bobby Colomby and Roy Halee.


  • David Clayton-Thomas- lead vocals
  • Fred Lipsius- alto saxophone, piano, backing vocals, electric piano, music box
  • Lew Soloff- trumpet, flugelhorn, piccolo trumpet
  • Chuck Winfield- trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Jerry Hyman- trombone, bass trombone, recorder
  • Steve Katz- guitar, lead vocals, harmonica
  • Dick Halligan- organ, backing vocals, piano, electric piano, harpsichord, celeste, trombone, flute, alto flute, baritone horn
  • Jim Fielder- bass
  • Bobby Colomby- drums, backing vocals, percussion
  • Engineers: Roy Halee, Lou Waxman, Robert Honablue
  • Arrangers: David Clayton-Thomas, Bobby Colomby, Jim Fielder, Dick Halligan, Fred Lipsius
  • Design: John Berg
  • Photography: Lee Friedlander, Melissa Katz, Fred Lombardi

Track listing:

  1. Hi-De-Ho – Gerry Goffin, Carole King
  2. The Battle – Dick Halligan, Steve Katz
  3. Lucretia MacEvil – David Clayton-Thomas
  4. Lucretia’s Reprise – Blood, Sweat & Tears
  5. Fire and Rain – James Taylor
  6. Lonesome Suzie – Richard Manuel
  7. Symphony for the Devil – Dick Halligan / Sympathy for the Devil – Mick Jagger, Keith Richards
  8. He’s a Runner – Laura Nyro
  9. Somethin’ Comin’ On – Joe Cocker, Chris Stainton
  10. 40,000 Headmen – Steve Winwood, Jim Capaldi

In March 1975.

In March 1975, “Epic” label released “Go Girl Crazy!” the debut Dictators studio album. It was recorded in 1975, and was produced by Murray Krugman and Sandy Pearlman. The album is considered one of the first punk rock releases.


  • Handsome Dick Manitoba– lead vocals
  • Ross “The Boss” Funicello– guitar, backing vocals
  • Scott Kempner– rhythm guitar
  • Stu Boy King –percussion, drums
  • Andy Shernoff– bass guitar, keyboards, vocals
  • Greg Calbi –mastering
  • David Gahr – photography
  • Tim Geelan –engineering
  • Ed Sprigg –mixing
  • Lou Waxman – engineering

Track listing:

All tracks by Andy Shernoff, except where noted.

  1. The Net Big Thing
  2. I Got You Babe – Sonny Bono
  3. Back to Africa
  4. Master Race Rock
  5. Teengenerate
  6. California Sun – Henry Glover,Morris Levy
  7. Two Tub man
  8. Weekend
  9. (I Live For) Cars and Girls