On November 30, 1979.

Pink Floyd - Wall

On November 30, 1979, “Harvest” label released “The Wall”, the eleventh Pink Floyd studio album. This was the last studio album released with the lineup of David Gilmour, Roger Waters, Richard Wright and  Nick Mason. Richard Wright left the band after the release of the album. It was recorded from December 1978 till November 1979, at the “Britannia Row”, “Super Bear Studio”, “Studio Miraval” in France, “CBS 30th Street Studio” in New York, and at the “Producers Workshop” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Bob Ezrin, David Gilmour, James Guthrie and Roger Waters. The album featured band’s only number one single “Another Brick in the Wall Part 2”, and became one of the best selling albums of 1980. By 1999 “The Wall” sold in more than 23 million copies worldwide. Magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked “The Wall” at number 87 on its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Roger Waters- vocals, bass, rhythm guitar, synthesizers, sound effects, design
  • David Gilmour- vocals, lead and rhythm guitars, bass, synthesizers
  • Nick Mason- drums, percussion
  • Richard Wright- piano, Hammond organ, electric piano, synthesizers, bass pedals
  • Children of Islington Green School– vocals
  • Bob Ezrin– piano, Hammond organ, synthesizers, reed organ, backing vocals
  • James Guthrie– percussion, synthesizer, sound effects
  • Jeff Porcaro– drums
  • Joe Porcaro, Blue Ocean & 34 other – snare drums
  • Lee Ritenour– guitars
  • Joe (Ron) di Blasi – classical guitar
  • Fred Mandel– Hammond organ
  • Bobbye Hall– congas, bongos
  • Frank Marrocco– concertina
  • Larry Williams – clarinet
  • Trevor Veitch – mandolin
  • New York Orchestra – orchestra
  • New York Opera – choral vocals
  • Unnamed children’s choir from New York – children’s choral vocals
  • “Vicki & Clare” – backing vocals
  • Bruce Johnston– backing vocals
  • Toni Tennille– backing vocals
  • Joe Chemay – backing vocals
  • Jon Joyce – backing vocals
  • Stan Farber – backing vocals
  • Jim Haas– backing vocals
  • Harry Waters– child’s voice
  • Chris Fitzmorris – male telephone voice
  • Trudy Young – voice of the groupie
  • Phil Taylor – sound effects
  • Bob Ezrin – orchestral arrangement
  • Michael Kamen– orchestral arrangements
  • Gerald Scarfe – design

Track listing:

All tracks by Roger Waters, except where noted.

  1. In the Flash
  2. The Thin Ice – David Gilmour, Roger Waters
  3. Another Brick in the Wall (part 1)
  4. The Happiest Days of Our Lives
  5. Another Brick in the Wall (Part 2) – David Gilmour, Roger Waters
  6. Mother – David Gilmour and Roger Waters
  7. Goodbye Blue Sky
  8. Empty Spaces
  9. Young Lust – Roger Waters and David Gilmour
  10. One of My Turns
  11. Don’t Leave Me Now
  12. Another Brick in the Wall (Part 3)
  13. Goodbye Cruel World
  14. Hey You
  15. Is There Anybody Out There
  16. Nobody Home
  17. Vera
  18. Bring the Boys Back Home
  19. Comfortably Numb
  20. The Show Must Go On
  21. In the Flesh
  22. Run Like Hell – David Gilmour, Roger Waters
  23. Waiting for Worms
  24. Stop
  25. The Trial – Roger Waters, Bob Ezrin
  26. Outside the Wall

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.