Tag Archives: Blind Willie Johnson

On January 13, 2006.

On January 13, 2006, “SPV” label released “Soul of a Man”, album by Eric Burdon, dedicated to Ray Charles, John Lee Hooker and the city of New Orleans. It was recorded in 2005, and was produced by Tony Braunagel.


  • Eric Burdon – vocals
  • Carl Carlton- guitar, slide guitar
  • Johnny Lee Schell- guitar, slide guitar, background vocals
  • Jon Cleary- piano
  • James Hutchinson- bass
  • Reggie McBride – bass
  • Les Lovett – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Nick Love – trombone
  • John Sublett- saxophone
  • Rod Piazza- harmonica
  • Lenny Castro- percussion
  • Tony Braunagel- drums

Track listing:

  1. Soul of a Man – Blind Willie Johnson
  2. Kingsize Jones – Jimmy Wood, J.J. Holliday
  3. Red Cross Store – Fred McDowell
  4. Como Se Llama Mama – Gregg Sutton, John Heron
  5. Forty Days and Forty Nights – Bernard Roth
  6. Feeling Blue – Eric Bibb, Fredrik Boström
  7. Never Give Up Blues – David Munyon
  8. GTO – Munyon
  9. Forty-Four – Roosevelt Sykes, Eurreal Wilford Montgomery
  10. Slow Moving Train – John Keller
  11. Don’t Ever Let Nobody Drag Your Spirit Down – Charlotte Hoglund, Eric Bibb
  12. Devil Run – John Bundrick
  13. I Don’t Mind – John Bundrick
  14. Circuit Rider – Billy Watts, David Raven, Pete Anderson, Taras Prodaniuk



In January 1969.


In January 1969, “Island” label released “What We Did on Our Holidays”, the second Fairport Convention album. It was recorded June – October 1968, at “Sound Techniques”; “Olympic Studio No. 1”; “St. Peter’s Church”, and “Morgan Studios” in London, and was produced by Joe Boyd. It was the first band’s album to feature  Sandy Denny.


  • Sandy Denny (as Alexandra Elene MacLean Denny) – vocals, acoustic & 12-string acoustic guitars, organ, piano, harpsichord
  • Iain Matthews– vocals, congas
  • Richard Thompson– vocals, electric, acoustic and 12-string acoustic guitars, piano accordion, sitar
  • Ashley Hutchings– bass, backing vocals
  • Simon Nicol– acoustic and electric guitars, electric autoharp, electric dulcimer, backing vocals
  • Martin Lamble– drums, percussion, violin, tabla, footsteps
  • Bruce Lacey and his Robots
  • Claire Lowther – cello
  • Kingsley Abbott – coins, backing vocals
  • Paul Ghosh, Andrew Horvitch, Marc Ellington – backing vocals
  • Peter Ross – harmonica
  • John Wood – engineer
  • Richard Bennett Zeff, Annie Brown – photography
  • Diogenic Attempts Ltd. – design

Track listing:

  1. Fotheringay – Sandy Denny
  2. Mr Lacey – Ashley Hutchings
  3. Book Song – Iain Matthews, Richard Thompson
  4. The Lord Is in This Place…How Dreadful Is This Place (based on “Dark Was the Night, Cold Was the Ground” by Blind Willie Johnson) – Ashley Hutchings, Sandy Denny, Richard Thompson
  5. No Man’s Land – Richard Thompson
  6. I’ll Keep It With Mine – Bob Dylan
  7. Eastern Rain – Joni Mitchell
  8. Nottamun Town – traditional, arranged by Sandy Denny, Iain Matthews, Richard Thompson, Simon Nicol, Ashley Hutchings, Martin Lamble
  9. Tale in Hard Time – Richard Thompson
  10. She Moves Through the Fair – traditional, arr. Sandy Denny, Iain Matthews, Richard Thompson, Simon Nicol, Ashley Hutchings, Martin Lamble
  11. Meet on the Ledge – Richard Thompson
  12. End of a Holiday – Simon Nicol

In December 1970.


In December 1970, “Reprise” label released the debut, self-titled Ry Cooder album. It was recorded in 1970, and was produced by Van Dyke Parks and Lenny Waronker.


  • Ry Cooder– guitar, mandolin, bass, vocal
  • Van Dyke Parks– piano, arranger
  • Gloria Jones& Co.- voices
  • Judy Betz – production assistant
  • Lee Herschberg – engineer, mix-down
  • Doug Botnick – engineer
  • Thaddeus James Lowe – engineer
  • Rudy Hill – engineer
  • Bob Kovach – engineer
  • Kirby Johnson – conductor, orchestrator

Track listing:

  1. Alimony – Brenda Jones, Welton Young,Robert Higginbotham
  2. France Chance – Joe Callicott
  3. One Meat Ball – Louis Singer, Hy Zaret
  4. Do Re Mi – Woody Guthrie
  5. My Old Kentucky Home (Turpentine & Dandelion Wine) – Randy Newman
  6. How Can a Poor Man Stand Such Times and Live? – Alfred Reed
  7. Available Space – Ry Cooder
  8. Pigmeat – Huddie Ledbetter
  9. Police Dog Blues – Arthur Blake
  10. Goin’ to Brownsville – John Estes
  11. Dark Is the Night – Blind Willie Johnson

September 19, 1988.


On September 19, 1988, “Mute” label released “Tender Prey”, the fifth Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds studio album. It was recorded August–November 1987, at “Vielklang Studios” and “Hansa Tonstudio” in Berlin; “Trident Studios” and “Strongroom Studios” in London, and was produced by Flood and Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds.


  • Nick Cave– vocals, Hammond, harmonica, piano, tambourine, vibes
  • Mick Harvey– bass, backing vocals, acoustic guitar, drums, percussion, xylophone, guitar, bass loops, piano, organ
  • Blixa Bargeld– guitar, backing vocals, slide guitar
  • Roland Wolf– piano, organ, guitar
  • Kid Congo Powers– guitar, backing vocals
  • Thomas Wydler– drums
  • Hugo Race– backing vocals, guitar
  • Gini Ball – strings
  • Audrey Riley– strings
  • Chris Tombling – strings
  • Ian Davis – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Nick Cave, except:

  • Track 1, 9 & 11 – words Nick Cave, music Nick Cave, Mick Harvey
  • Track 2 – words Nick Cave, music Nick Cave, Mick Harve,  Roland Wolf, Blixa Bargeld, Kid Congo Powers)
  • “Deanna” is loosely based on The Edwin Hawkins Singers version of the hymn”Oh Happy Day”.
  • “City of Refuge” is inspired by a Blind Willie Johnson song “I’m Gonna Run to the City of Refuge’.
  1. The Mercy Seat
  2. Jumped the Devil
  3. Deanna
  4. Watching Alice
  5. Mercy
  6. City of Refuge
  7. Slowly Goes the Night
  8. Sunday’s Slave
  9. Sugar Sugar Sugar
  10. New Morning
  • The Mercy Seat (video mix) – (CD only)

On February 8, 1994.


On February 8, 1994, “Virgin” label released “Welcome to the Cruel World” the debut Ben Harper album.  It was recorded in 1993, at the “Convent”, and was produced by Ben Harper and J.P. Plunier.


  • Ben Harper – vocals, multiple instruments
  • Clyde Allen – background vocals
  • Clarence Butler – background vocals
  • Richard Cook – Uillean pipes
  • Rock Deadrick – percussion, drums, background vocals
  • Clabe Hangan – background vocals
  • Jelani Jones – background vocals
  • Suzie Katayama – cello
  • Ken McDaniel – background vocals
  • John McKnight – bass, accordion
  • John Taylor – background vocals
  • Kevin Williams – background vocals
  • Tommy D. Daugherty- drum programming
  • Tom Dolan and J.P. Plunier – art direction
  • Jeff Gottlieb – photography

All songs written by Ben Harper except where noted.

  1. The Three of Us
  2. Whipping Boy – Chris Darrow
  3. Breakin’ Down – Ben Harper and Jean Pierre Plunier
  4. Don’t Take That Attitude to Your Grave
  5. Waiting on an Angel
  6. Mama’s Got a Girlfriend Now
  7. Forever
  8. Like a King
  9. Pleasure and Pain
  10. Walk Away
  11. How Many Miles Must We March
  12. Welcome to the Cruel World
  13. I’ll Rise – Maya Angelou and Ben Harper
  14. By and By I’m Going to See the King – Blind Willie Johnson
  15. Remember