September 19, 1988.


On September 19, 1988, “Mute” label released “Tender Prey”, the fifth Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds studio album. It was recorded August–November 1987, at “Vielklang Studios” and “Hansa Tonstudio” in Berlin, “Trident Studios” and “Strongroom Studios” in London, and was produced by Flood, Nick Cave, Mick Harvey, Blixa Bargeld, Roland Wolf and Thomas Wydler.


  • Nick Cave– vocals, Hammond, harmonica, piano, tambourine, vibes
  • Mick Harvey– bass, acoustic and electric guitar, drums, percussion, xylophone, bass loops, piano, organ, backing vocals
  • Blixa Bargeld– guitar, slide guitar, backing vocals
  • Kid Congo Powers– guitar, backing vocals
  • Hugo Race– guitar, backing vocals
  • Roland Wolf– piano, organ, guitar
  • Thomas Wydler– drums
  • Gini Ball – strings
  • Audrey Riley– strings
  • Chris Tombling – strings
  • Ian Davis – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Nick Cave.

  1. The Mercy Seat
  2. Jumped the Devil
  3. Deanna
  4. Watching Alice
  5. Mercy
  6. City of Refuge
  7. Slowly Goes the Night
  8. Sunday’s Slave
  9. Sugar Sugar Sugar
  10. New Morning

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.