In January 1969.


In January 1969, “Island” label released “What We Did on Our Holidays”, the second Fairport Convention album. It was recorded June – October 1968, at “Sound Techniques”; “Olympic Studio No. 1”; “St. Peter’s Church”, and “Morgan Studios” in London, and was produced by Joe Boyd. It was the first band’s album to feature  Sandy Denny.


  • Sandy Denny (as Alexandra Elene MacLean Denny) – vocals, acoustic & 12-string acoustic guitars, organ, piano, harpsichord
  • Iain Matthews– vocals, congas
  • Richard Thompson– vocals, electric, acoustic and 12-string acoustic guitars, piano accordion, sitar
  • Ashley Hutchings– bass, backing vocals
  • Simon Nicol– acoustic and electric guitars, electric autoharp, electric dulcimer, backing vocals
  • Martin Lamble– drums, percussion, violin, tabla, footsteps
  • Bruce Lacey and his Robots
  • Claire Lowther – cello
  • Kingsley Abbott – coins, backing vocals
  • Paul Ghosh, Andrew Horvitch, Marc Ellington – backing vocals
  • Peter Ross – harmonica
  • John Wood – engineer
  • Richard Bennett Zeff, Annie Brown – photography
  • Diogenic Attempts Ltd. – design

Track listing:

  1. Fotheringay – Sandy Denny
  2. Mr Lacey – Ashley Hutchings
  3. Book Song – Iain Matthews, Richard Thompson
  4. The Lord Is in This Place…How Dreadful Is This Place (based on “Dark Was the Night, Cold Was the Ground” by Blind Willie Johnson) – Ashley Hutchings, Sandy Denny, Richard Thompson
  5. No Man’s Land – Richard Thompson
  6. I’ll Keep It With Mine – Bob Dylan
  7. Eastern Rain – Joni Mitchell
  8. Nottamun Town – traditional, arranged by Sandy Denny, Iain Matthews, Richard Thompson, Simon Nicol, Ashley Hutchings, Martin Lamble
  9. Tale in Hard Time – Richard Thompson
  10. She Moves Through the Fair – traditional, arr. Sandy Denny, Iain Matthews, Richard Thompson, Simon Nicol, Ashley Hutchings, Martin Lamble
  11. Meet on the Ledge – Richard Thompson
  12. End of a Holiday – Simon Nicol

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.