On February 8, 1994.


On February 8, 1994, “Virgin” label released “Welcome to the Cruel World” the debut Ben Harper album.  It was recorded in 1993, at the “Convent”, and was produced by Ben Harper and J.P. Plunier.


  • Ben Harper – vocals, multiple instruments
  • Clyde Allen – background vocals
  • Clarence Butler – background vocals
  • Richard Cook – Uillean pipes
  • Rock Deadrick – percussion, drums, background vocals
  • Clabe Hangan – background vocals
  • Jelani Jones – background vocals
  • Suzie Katayama – cello
  • Ken McDaniel – background vocals
  • John McKnight – bass, accordion
  • John Taylor – background vocals
  • Kevin Williams – background vocals
  • Tommy D. Daugherty- drum programming
  • Tom Dolan and J.P. Plunier – art direction
  • Jeff Gottlieb – photography

All songs written by Ben Harper except where noted.

  1. The Three of Us
  2. Whipping Boy – Chris Darrow
  3. Breakin’ Down – Ben Harper and Jean Pierre Plunier
  4. Don’t Take That Attitude to Your Grave
  5. Waiting on an Angel
  6. Mama’s Got a Girlfriend Now
  7. Forever
  8. Like a King
  9. Pleasure and Pain
  10. Walk Away
  11. How Many Miles Must We March
  12. Welcome to the Cruel World
  13. I’ll Rise – Maya Angelou and Ben Harper
  14. By and By I’m Going to See the King – Blind Willie Johnson
  15. Remember

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.