Tag Archives: My babe

In April 1959.

In April 1959, “Columbia” label released “Cliff”, the debut Cliff Richard (and his band the Drifters, later known as the Shadows) album. It was recorded 9 – 10 February 1959, at “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Norrie Paramor.


  • Cliff Richard– lead vocals
  • Hank Marvin– lead guitar
  • Bruce Welch- rhythm guitar
  • Jet Harris– bass guitar
  • Tony Meehan– drums
  • Mike Sammes Singers– background vocals
  • Malcolm Addey – engineer

Track listing:

  1. Apron Strings – George David Weiss, Aaron Schroeder
  2. My Babe – Willie Dixon
  3. Down the Line – Roy Orbison
  4. I Got a Feeling – Baker Knight
  5. Jet Black – Jet Harris
  6. Baby I Don’t Care – Leiber, Stoller
  7. Donna – Ritchie Valens
  8. Move It – Ian Samwell
  9. Ready Teddy – John Marascalco, Robert Blackwell
  10. Too Much – Lee Rosenberg, Bernard Weinman
  11. Don’t Bug Me Baby – Leon Luallen, Johnny Bragg
  12. Driftin’ – Hank Marvin
  13. That’ll Be the Day – Buddy Holly, Jerry Allison
  14. Be-Bop-A-Lula – Gene Vincent
  15. Danny – Ben Weisman, Fred Wise
  16. Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin On – Dave “Curly” Williams

In August 1965.

In August 1965, “Warner Bros” label released “Beat & Soul”, the eleventh Everly Brothers album. It was recorded in June 1965, and was produced by Dick Glasser.


  • Don Everly – vocals, guitar
  • Phil Everly – vocals guitar
  • James Burton, Glen Campbell, Sonny Curtis– guitar
  • Larry Knechtel– bass
  • Jim Gordon– drums
  • Leon Russell, Billy Preston– piano

Track listing:

  1. Love Is Strange – Mickey Baker, Sylvia Robinson, Ellas McDaniel
  2. Money – Janie Bradford, Berry Gordy
  3. What Am I Living For? – Art Harris, Fred Jay
  4. Hi-Heel Sneakers – Robert Higginbotham
  5. C. Rider – Gertrude “Ma” Rainey
  6. Lonely Avenue – Doc Pomus
  7. Man With Money – Don Everly, Phil Everly
  8. People Get Ready – Curtis Mayfield
  9. My Babe – Willie Dixon
  10. Walking the Dog – Rufus Thomas
  11. I Almost Lost My Mind – Ivory Joe Hunter
  12. The Girl Can’t Help It – Bobby Troup

On January 29, 1992.


On January 29, 1992, William James “Willie” Dixon died aged 72. Vocalist, musician, songwriter, arranger and record producer, Grammy Award winner ,next to Muddy Waters, Dixon is recognized as the most influential person in shaping the post-World War II sound of the Chicago blues. His songs were recorded by countless number of musicians such as Bob Dylan, Cream, Jeff Beck, The Doors, Jimi Hendrix, Led Zeppelin and The Rolling Stones. Some of his best known songs are “Hoochie Coochie Man”, “I Just Want to Make Love to You”, “Little Red Rooster”, “My Babe”, “Spoonful”, and “You Can’t Judge a Book by the Cover”.