On December 28, 1976.

Freddie King jpg

On December 28, 1976, Freddie King died aged 42. Being guitarist and singer his music roots were from Chicago and Texas blues and he is often mentioned as one of “the Three Kings” of electric blues guitar along with Albert King and B.B. King. Freddie King was one of the first bluesmen to have a multi-racial backing band at live performances. His biggest successes were singles “Have You Ever Loved a Woman” (1960) and “Hide Away” (1961).King inspired many famous musicians including Eric Clapton, Jerry Garcia,Peter Green, Dickey Betts and Stevie Ray Vaughan.  In 2012 Freddie King was inducted into the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame”.


On December 27, 2008.

Delaney Bramlett

On December 27, 2008, Delaine Alvin “Delaney” Bramlett died aged 69. Being singer, songwriter, musician, and producer, Bramlett was best known by the  partnership with his wife Bonnie Bramlett in a revolving troupe of professional musicians and rock stars Delaney & Bonnie & Friends.  In his five decade long career, Bramlett performed and recorded with big number of famous musicians, including: J.J. Cale, Leon Russell, Eric Clapton, King Curtis, Elvin Bishop, The Crickets, Dave Mason, John Simon, John Hammond Jr, Duane Allman, Everly Brothers, Jerry Lee Lewis, Pacific Gas & Electric, John Ussery, Commander Cody, Dann Rogers, Hank Thompson, Ian Whitcomb and T. Graham Brown.


On December 27, 1979.

Udventures in Utopia

On December 27, 1979, “Bearsville” label released “Adventures in Utopia”, the fifth Utopia album. It  was recorded at the “Utopia Sound Studios” and was produced by Todd Rundgren and Utopia.


  • Todd Rundgren- guitars, vocals, composer, engineer, photography
  • Roger Powell- keyboards, vocals, trumpet, composer
  • Kasim Sulton- bass, vocals, composer
  • John “Willie” Wilcox – drums, vocals, composer

All tracks by Utopia.

  1. The Road to Utopia
  2. You Make Me Crazy
  3. Second Nature
  4. Set Me Free
  5. Caravan
  6. Last of the New Wave Riders
  7. Shot in the Dark
  8. The Very Last Time
  9. Love Alone
  10. Rock Love


On December 27, 1976.

Genesis wind and wuthering

On December 27, 1976, “Charisma” label released “Wind & Wuthering”, the eighth Genesis studio album. It was recorded  September – October 1976, at the “Relight Studios” in Hilvarenbeek, Netherlands, and was produced by David Hentschel and Genesis. This was the last album to feature guitarist Steve Hackett prior to his departure to pursue a solo career. “Wind & Wuthering” received Gold certification both by the “BPI” and by “RIAA”.


  • Phil Collins– vocals, drums, cymbals, percussion
  • Steve Hackett– electric guitars, nylon classical guitar, 12 string guitar, kalimba, autoharp
  • Mike Rutherford– 4, 6, and 8 string bass guitars, electric and 12 string acoustic guitars, bass pedals
  • Tony Banks– Steinway grand piano, ARP 2600 synthesizer, ARP Pro Soloist synthesizer, Hammond organ, Mellotron, Roland RS-202 string/brass synthesizer, Fender Rhodes piano
  • Hipgnosis– design
  • Colin Elgie – design

Track listing

  1. Eleventh Earl of Mar – Tony Banks, Steve Hackett, Mike Rutherford
  2. One for the Vine – Tony Banks
  3. Your Own Special Way – Mike Rutherford
  4. Wot Gorilla? – Phil Collins, Tony Banks
  5. All in a Mouse’s Night – Tony Banks
  6. Blood on the Rooftops – Steve Hackett, Phil Collins
  7. Unquiet Slumbers for the Sleepers – Steve Hackett, Mike Rutherford
  8. In That Quiet Earth – Steve Hackett, Mike Rutherford, Tony Banks, Phil Collins
  9. Afterglow – Tony Banks


On December 27, 1967.

Songs of Leonard Cohen

On December 27, 1967, “Columbia” label released “Songs of Leonard Cohen”, the debut Leonard Cohen album. It was recorded in August 1967, at the “Columbia Studio E” in New York, and was produced by John Simon.

Track listing

All tracks by Leonard Cohen.

  1. Suzanne
  2. Master Song
  3. Winter Lady
  4. The Stranger Song
  5. Sisters of Mercy
  6. So Long, Marianne
  7. Hey, That’s No Way to Say Goodbye
  8. Stories of the Street
  9. Teachers
  10. One of Us Cannot Be Wrong




On December 27, 1967.


On December 27, 1967, “Columbia” label released “John Wesley Harding”, the eighth Bob Dylan studio album. It was recorded October – November 1967, and was produced by Bob Johnston. The album marked Dylan’s return to acoustic music after the three previous electric albums. The album was certified Gold in the US by the “RIAA” after only three months after its release. The album track “All Along the Watchtower” became one of Dylan’s best known most songs and  it was recorded by Jimi Hendrix the following year. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “John Wesley Harding” at number 301 at its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of all Time”.


  • Bob Dylan– guitar, harmonica, piano, keyboards, vocals
  • Kenneth Buttrey – drums
  • Pete Drake– pedal steel guitar
  • Charlie McCoy– bass guitar
  • John Berg – cover photo

Track listing

All tracks by Bob Dylan.

  1. John Wesley Harding
  2. As I Went Out One Morning
  3. I dreamed I Saw St. Augustine
  4. All Along the Watchtower
  5. The Ballad of Frankie Lee and Judas Priest
  6. Drifter’s Escape
  7. Dear Landlord
  8. I am a Lonesome Hobo
  9. I Pity the Poor Immigrant
  10. The Wicked Messenger
  11. Down Along the Cove
  12. I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight




On December 23, 1968.

Natchl blues

On December 23, 1968, “Columbia” label released “The Natch’l Blues”, the second Taj Mahal studio album. It was recorded from May to October 1968, and was produced by David Rubinson.


  • Taj Mahal- harmonica, Miss “National” steel bodied guitar, vocals
  • Jesse Ed Davis- guitar, piano, brass arrangements
  • Gary Gilmore – bass
  • Chuck Blackwell – drums
  • Al Kooper- piano
  • Earl Palmer- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Taj Mahal, except where noted.

  1. Good Morning Miss Brown
  2. Corinna – Taj Mahal, Jesse Ed Davis
  3. Ain’t Gonna Let Nobody Steal My Jellyroll
  4. Going Up to the Country, Paint My Mailbox Blue
  5. Done Changed My Way of Living
  6. She Caught the Katy and Left Me a Mule to Ride – Taj Mahal, Yank Rachell
  7. The Cuckoo – traditional
  8. You Don’t Miss Your Water(‘Til Your Well Runs Dry) – William Bell
  9. Ain’t That a Lot of Love – Homer Banks, Deanie Parker