In June 1980.

In June 1980, “Topic Records” label released “Penguin Eggs”, the fifth and the final Nic Jones album. It was recorded in 1980, at “Livingston Studios” in London, and was produced by Tony Engle.


  • Nic Jones– vocals, guitar, fiddle, arrangements
  • Dave Burland– harmony vocals
  • Bridget Danby – recorder, harmony vocals
  • Tony Hall – melodeon
  • Nic Kinsey – engineering
  • Billy Kinsley – engineering

Track listing:

The detail after the title is the composer’s name or references from the three major numbering schemes for traditional folk songs, the “Roud Folk Song Index”, “Child Ballad Numbers”, and the “Laws Numbers”.

  1. Canadee – Roud 309
  2. The Drowned Lovers – Roud 91, Child 216
  3. The Humpback – Harry Robertson
  4. The Little Pot Stove – Harry Robertson
  5. Courting is a Pleasure – Roud 454
  6. Barrack Street – Roud 1902, Laws K42
  7. Planxty Davis
  8. The Flandyke Shore – Roud 2636
  9. Farewell to the Gold – Paul Metsers

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.