Tag Archives: Wessex Sound Studios

In February 1983.

In February 1983, “Chrysalis” label released “Waiting”, the second and the final Fun Boy Three studio album. It was recorded October – December 1982, at “Wessex Sound Studios” in London, and was produced by David Byrne.


  • Terry Hall- vocals
  • Neville Staple- percussion, vocals
  • Lynval Golding- guitar, vocals
  • David Byrne- guitar, mixing
  • Nicky Holland – keyboards, vocals, arranger
  • Ingrid Schroeder – vocals
  • Bethan Peters – bass guitar, vocals
  • June Miles-Kingston- drums, vocals
  • Dick Cuthell– cornet
  • Annie Whitehead– trombone
  • Caroline Lavelle– cello
  • Geraldo d’Arbilly – percussion
  • Jeremy Green – engineer, mixing
  • David Storey – design
  • Mike Owen – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Terry Hall, Neville Staple and Lynval Golding, except where noted.

  1. Murder She Said – Ron Goodwin
  2. The More I See (The Less I Believe)
  3. Going Home
  4. We’re Having All The Fun
  5. The Farmyard Connection
  6. The Tunnel of Love
  7. Our Lips Are Sealed – Terry Hall, Jane Wiedlin
  8. The Pressure of Life (Takes the Weight Off the Body)
  9. Things We Do
  10. Well Fancy That!



In July 1975.

In July 1975, “Chrysalis” label released “Force It”, the fourth UFO studio album. It was recorded in 1975, at “Morgan Studios”, “Wessex Sound Studios” in London, and was produced by Leo Lyons. The cover art was by Hipgnosis.

• Phil Mogg – vocals
• Michael Schenker – guitar
• Pete Way – bass
• Andy Parker – drums
• Chick Churchill – keyboards
• Leo LyonsMike Bobak, Mike Thompson – engineers

Track listing:
All tracks by Michael Schenker and Phil Mogg, except where noted.
1. Let It Roll
2. Shoot Shoot – Michael Schenker, Phil Moog, Pete Way, Andy Parker
3. High Flyer
4. Love Lost Love
5. Out in the Street – Pete Way, Phil Moog
6. Mother Mary – Michael Schenker, Phil Moog, Pete Way, Andy Parker
7. Too Much of Nothing
8. Dance Your Life Away
9. This Kid’s” (including “Between the Walls”, written by Michael Schenker)


In June 1980.

In June 1980, “Charisma” label released “Defector”, the fourth Steve Hackett solo album. It was recorded in 1980, at “Wessex Sound Studios” in London, and was produced by John Acock and Steve Hackett.


  • Steve Hackett– guitar, vocal, optigan, roland GR500
  • Nick Magnus – keyboards
  • John Hackett– concert and alto flute
  • Pete Hicks – vocal
  • John Shearer – drums, percussion
  • Dik Cadbury– bass, vocal

Track listing:

All tracks by Steve Hackett, except where noted.

  1. The Steppes
  2. Time to Get Out
  3. Slogans
  4. Leaving
  5. Two Vamps as Guests
  6. Jacuzzi
  7. Hammer in the Sand
  8. The Toast
  9. The Show
  10. Sentimental Institution – Steve Hackett, Peter Hicks

On September 16, 1991.


On September 16, 1991, “Verve” label released “Laughing Stock”, the fifth and final Talk Talk studio album. It was recorded 1990 – 1991, at “Wessex Sound Studios” in London, and was produced by Tim Friese-Greene. The cover art was designed by James Marsh.


  • Mark Hollis– vocal, guitar, piano, organ
  • Lee Harris– drums
  • Mark Feltham– harmonica
  • Martin Ditcham – percussion
  • Tim Friese-Greene– organ, piano, harmonium
  • Levine Andrade, Stephen Tees, George Robertson, Gavyn Wright, Jack Glickman, Garfield Jackson, Wilf Gibson – viola
  • Simon Edwards, Ernest Mothle – acoustic bass
  • Roger Smith, Paul Kegg – cello
  • Henry Lowther– trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Dave White – contrabass clarinet
  • Phill Brown– engineer

Track listing:

  1. Myrrhman – Mark Hollis
  2. Ascension Day – Mark Hollis
  3. After the Flood – Tim Friese, Mark Hollis
  4. Taphead – Mark Hollis
  5. New Grass – Mark Hollis
  6. Runeli – Mark Hollis



On July 23, 1971.


On July 23, 1971, “Treshold Records” released “Every Good Boy Deserves Favour”, the seventh Moody Blues album. It was recorded November 1970 – March 1971, at “Wessex Sound Studios” in London, and was produced by Tony Clarke.


  • Justin Hayward– vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, sitar
  • John Lodge– vocals, bass, cello
  • Ray Thomas  vocals,  flute,  tambourine,  oboe,  woodwinds,  harmonica
  • Graeme Edge– electric and acoustic drums, percussion
  • Mike Pinder– vocals, mellotron, harpsichord, Hammond organ, piano, keyboards, Moog synthesizer
  • Derek Varnals – recording engineer
  • David Baker – assistant engineer
  • Harry Fisher – cutting engineer
  • Phil Travers – sleeve artist
  • Randall Nelson – lyrics sheet photograph

Track listing:

  1. Procession – Graeme Edge, Justin Hayward, John Lodge, Mike Pinder, Ray Thomas
  2. The Story in Your Eyes – Justin Hayward
  3. Our Guessing Game – Ray Thomas
  4. Emily’s Song – John Lodge
  5. After You Came – Graeme Edge
  6. One More Time to Live – John Lodge
  7. Nice to Be Here – Ray Thomas
  8. You Can Never Go Home – Justin Hayward
  9. My Song – Mike Pinder

On May 15, 1970.


On May 15, 1970, “Island” label released “In the Wake of Poseidon”, the second King Crimson studio album. It was recorded January – April 1970, at “Wessex Sound Studios” in London, and was produced by Robert Fripp and Peter Sinfield.


  • Robert Fripp – guitars, mellotron, celesta, electric piano, devices, production
  • Greg Lake – vocals
  • Peter Sinfield – lyrics
  • Mel Collins – saxophones, flute
  • Michael Giles – drums
  • Peter Giles – bass guitar
  • Gordon Haskell – vocals
  • Keith Tippett – piano

Track listing

All tracks by Robert Fripp and Peter Sinfield, except where noted.

  1. Peace – A beginning
  2. Pictures of a city (including 42nd at Treadmill)
  3. Cadence and cascade
  4. In the wake of Poseidon (including Libra’s Theme)
  5. Peace – A Theme
  6. Cat food – Robert Fripp, Peter Sinfield and Ian McDonald
  7. The Devil’s Triangle (instrumental)  – Robert Fripp, Ian McDonald a. Merday Morn                                                                                                             b. Hand of Sceiron                                                                                             c. Garden of worm
  8. Peace – An End


On March 27, 1970.

Sentimental Journey

On March 27, 1970, “Apple” label released “Sentimental Journey”, the debut Ringo Starr studio album. It was recorded October 27 – December 26 1969 and January 14 –  March 6 1970, at “Abbey Road Studios”, “Trident Studios”, “Wessex Sound Studios”, “Olympic Sound Studios”, “De Lane Lea Studios” , “Morgan Sound Studios” in London, and  “A&M Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by George Martin.


  • Ringo Starr – vocals
  • George Martin Orchestra – all instruments

Track listing:

  1. Sentimental Journey – Bud Green, Les Broen and Bon Homer
  2. Night and Day – Cole Porter
  3. Whispering Grass (Don’t Tell the Trees) – Fred Fisher and Doris Fisher
  4. Bye Bye Blackbird – Mort Dixon and Ray Henderson
  5. I’m a Fool to Care – Ted daffan
  6. Stardust – Hoagy Carmichael and Mitchell Parish
  7. Blue, Turning Grey Over You – Andy Razaf and Fats Waller
  8. Love Is a Many Splendoured Thing – Sammy Fain and Paul Francis Webster
  9. Dream – Johnny Mercer
  10. You Always Hurt the One You Love – Allan Roberts and Doris Fisher
  11. Have I Told You Lately That I Love You? – Scott Wiseman
  12. Let the Rest of the World Go By – Ernest Ball and Karen Brennan