On September 16, 1991.


On September 16, 1991, “Verve” label released “Laughing Stock”, the fifth and final Talk Talk studio album. It was recorded 1990 – 1991, at “Wessex Sound Studios” in London, and was produced by Tim Friese-Greene.


  • Mark Hollis– vocal, guitar, piano, organ
  • Lee Harris– drums
  • Tim Friese Greene– organ, piano, harmonium
  • Mark Feltham– harmonica
  • Dave White – contrabass clarinet
  • Simon Edwards, Ernest Mothle – acoustic bass
  • Martin Ditcham – percussion
  • Henry Lowther– trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Levine Andrade, Stephen Tees, George Robertson, Gavyn Wright, Jack Glickman, Garfield Jackson, Wilf Gibson – viola
  • Roger Smith, Paul Kegg – cello
  • Phill Brown– engineer
  • James Marsh – design

Track listing:

  1. Myrrhman – Mark Hollis
  2. Ascension Day – Mark Hollis
  3. After the Flood – Tim Friese, Mark Hollis
  4. Taphead – Mark Hollis
  5. New Grass – Mark Hollis
  6. Runeli – Mark Hollis



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.