In April 1959.

In April 1959, “Columbia” label released “Cliff”, the debut Cliff Richard (and his band the Drifters, later known as the Shadows) album. It was recorded 9 – 10 February 1959, at “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Norrie Paramor.


  • Cliff Richard– lead vocals
  • Hank Marvin– lead guitar
  • Bruce Welch- rhythm guitar
  • Jet Harris– bass guitar
  • Tony Meehan– drums
  • Mike Sammes Singers– background vocals
  • Malcolm Addey – engineer

Track listing:

  1. Apron Strings – George David Weiss, Aaron Schroeder
  2. My Babe – Willie Dixon
  3. Down the Line – Roy Orbison
  4. I Got a Feeling – Baker Knight
  5. Jet Black – Jet Harris
  6. Baby I Don’t Care – Leiber, Stoller
  7. Donna – Ritchie Valens
  8. Move It – Ian Samwell
  9. Ready Teddy – John Marascalco, Robert Blackwell
  10. Too Much – Lee Rosenberg, Bernard Weinman
  11. Don’t Bug Me Baby – Leon Luallen, Johnny Bragg
  12. Driftin’ – Hank Marvin
  13. That’ll Be the Day – Buddy Holly, Jerry Allison
  14. Be-Bop-A-Lula – Gene Vincent
  15. Danny – Ben Weisman, Fred Wise
  16. Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin On – Dave “Curly” Williams

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.