Tag Archives: Janie Bradford

On July 28, 1979.

On July 28, 1979, “Virgin” label released the self-titled, debut Flying Lizards album. It was recorded 1978 – 1979, at “Berry Street Studio”, “Brixton Academy” in London, and in New York City, Munich, and Maidstone, and was produced by David Cunningham.


  • David Cunningham – engineer
  • Steve Beresford – guitar, bass, keyboards
  • David Toop
  • Michael Upton
  • Julian Marshall
  • Dave Hunt – engineer
  • Laurie Rae Chamberlain – sleeve art
  • Richard Rayner-Canham – sleeve art, photography

Track listing:

All tracks by David Cunningham except where noted

  1. Der Song von Mandelay (Mandelay Song) – Bertolt Brecht, Kurt Weill
  2. Her Story – Dave Solomon, David Cunningham, General-Strike, Vivien Goldman
  3. TV – David Cunningham, Deborah Evans-Stickland, General-Strike
  4. Russia
  5. Summertime Blues – Eddie Cochran, Jerry Capehart
  6. Money (That’s What I Want) – Berry Gordy, Janie Bradford
  7. The Flood
  8. Trouble
  9. Events During Flood
  10. The Window – Vivien Goldman

In August 1965.

In August 1965, “Warner Bros” label released “Beat & Soul”, the eleventh Everly Brothers album. It was recorded in June 1965, and was produced by Dick Glasser.


  • Don Everly – vocals, guitar
  • Phil Everly – vocals guitar
  • James Burton, Glen Campbell, Sonny Curtis– guitar
  • Larry Knechtel– bass
  • Jim Gordon– drums
  • Leon Russell, Billy Preston– piano

Track listing:

  1. Love Is Strange – Mickey Baker, Sylvia Robinson, Ellas McDaniel
  2. Money – Janie Bradford, Berry Gordy
  3. What Am I Living For? – Art Harris, Fred Jay
  4. Hi-Heel Sneakers – Robert Higginbotham
  5. C. Rider – Gertrude “Ma” Rainey
  6. Lonely Avenue – Doc Pomus
  7. Man With Money – Don Everly, Phil Everly
  8. People Get Ready – Curtis Mayfield
  9. My Babe – Willie Dixon
  10. Walking the Dog – Rufus Thomas
  11. I Almost Lost My Mind – Ivory Joe Hunter
  12. The Girl Can’t Help It – Bobby Troup

On March 20, 1964.

On March 20, 1964, “Gordy” label released “Meet the Temptations”, the debut Temptations album for the Gordy (Motown) label. It was recorded 1961-January 1964, and was produced by Berry Gordy, Andre Williams, William “Mickey” Stevenson, Smokey Robinson, and Norman Whitfield.


  • Eddie Kendricks: vocals
  • Paul Williams: vocals
  • Melvin Franklin: vocals
  • Otis Williams: vocals
  • Elbridge “Al” Bryant: vocals
  • Davis “David” Ruffin: vocals
  • Eddie Holland: background vocals
  • Brian Holland: background vocals
  • Berry Gordy: executive producer
  • Smokey Robinson:executive producer

Track listing:

  1. The Way You Do the Things You Do – Smokey Robinson, Bobby Rogers
  2. I Want a Love I Can See – Smokey Robinson
  3. (You’re My) Dream Come True – Berry Gordy, Jr.
  4. Paradise – Berry Gordy
  5. May I Have This Dance – Janie Bradford, Norman Whitfield
  6. Isn’t She Pretty – Berry Gordy, Eddie Kendricks, Otis Williams
  7. Just Let Me Know – Berry Gordy
  8. Your Wonderful Love – Berry Gordy
  9. The Further You Look, the Less You See – Smokey Robinson, Norman Whitfield
  10. Check Yourself – Elbridge Bryant, David English, Berry Gordy, Otis Williams
  11. Slow Down Heart – Smokey Robinson
  12. Farewell My Love – Berry Gordy

On November 22, 1963.


On November 22, 1963, “Parlaphone” label released “With the Beatles”, the second Beatles studio album. It was recorded July – October 1963, at “EMI Studios” in London, and was produced by George Martin. The album cover photograph was by fashion photographer Robert Freeman “With the Beatles” was the first Beatles album released in North America. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 420 on its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • George Harrison– lead, harmony and backing vocals; lead and acoustic guitars; handclaps
  • John Lennon– lead, harmony and backing vocals; rhythm and acoustic guitars; harmonica and handclaps; nylon-string acoustic guitar; Hammond organ, tambourine
  • Paul McCartney– lead, harmony and backing vocals; bass guitar and handclaps; piano, claves
  • Ringo Starr– drums, tambourine, maracas, handclaps; lead vocals, bongo
  • Robert Freeman– cover photograph
  • George Martin– arrangement, mixing; piano
  • Norman Smith– engineering, mixing

Track listing:

All tracks by Lennon–McCartney, except where noted.

  1. It Won’t Be Long
  2. All I’ve Got to Do
  3. All My Loving
  4. Don’t Bother Me – George Harrison
  5. Little Child
  6. Till There Was You – Meredith Willson
  7. Please Mister Postman – Georgia Dobbins, William Garrett, Freddie Gorman, Brian Holland, Robert Bateman
  8. Roll Over Beethoven – Chuck Berry
  9. Hold Me Tight
  10. You Really Got a Hold on Me – Smokey Robinson
  11. I Wanna Be Your Man
  12. Devil in Her Heart- Richard Drapkin
  13. Not a Second Time
  14. Money (That’s What I Want) – Janie Bradford, Berry Gordy

On January 10, 1964.

RS first EP

On January 10, 1964, “Decca” label released the self-titled, debut Rolling Stones EP. It was recorded on August 8, 1963, at “Decca Studios” in West Hampstead and on 14 November 1963,at  “De Lane Lea Studios” in Kingsway,  and was produced by Eric Oldham and Andrew Long.


  • Mick Jagger– lead vocals, tambourine
  • Brian Jones– guitar, backing vocals, harmonica, percussion
  • Keith Richards– guitar, backing vocals
  • Charlie Watts– drums
  • Bill Wyman– bass guitar, backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Bye Bye Johnny – Chuck Berry
  2. Money – Berry Gordy, Janie Bradford
  3. You Better Move On – Arthur Alexander
  4. Poison Ivy – Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller