on October 11, 1994.

On October 11, 1994, “ECM” label released “Stranger than Fiction”, the 20th John Surman album. It was recorded in December 1993, at “Rainbow Studio” in Oslo, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • John Surman – alto, soprano and baritone saxophone, alto and bass clarinet
  • John Taylor – piano
  • Chris Laurence – bass
  • John Marshall – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by John Surman except where noted.

  1. Canticle with Response
  2. A Distant Spring
  3. Tess
  4. Promising Horizons – John Marshall, John Surman, John Taylor
  5. Across the Bridge
  6. Moonshine Dancer
  7. Running Sands
  8. Triptych: Hidden Orchid/Synapsis/Paratactic Paths

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.