On August 19, 1997.

On August 19, 1997, “Mapleshade” label released “When Alto Was King”, the fifth and the final C. I. Williams album. It was recorded May 1995 – March 1996 and was produced by Hamiet Bluiett.


  • I. Williams- alto saxophone
  • Larry Willis- piano
  • Don Blackman- piano
  • Ed Cherry- guitar
  • Keter Betts- bass
  • Jimmy Cobb- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by C. I. Williams except where noted.

  1. You’d Be So Nice to Come Home To – Cole Porter
  2. Punkin Juice
  3. ‘Round Midnight – Thelonious Monk
  4. Catfish Sammich
  5. Misty – Erroll Garner
  6. Lover Man – Jimmy Davis, Ram Ramirez, James Sherman
  7. Because of You – Arthur Hammerstein, Dudley Wilkinson
  8. Jeep’s Blues – Duke Ellington, Johnny Hodges
  9. I’ll Close My Eyes – Buddy Kaye, Billy Reid
  10. Avalon – Buddy DeSylva, Al Jolson, Vincent Rose
  11. Precious Lord – Thomas A. Dorsey

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.