Tag Archives: Curt Kirkwood

On April 16, 2013.

On April 16, 2013, “Megaforce Records” label released “Rat Farm”, the fourteenth Meat Puppets studio album. It was recorded 2012 – 2103, and was produced by Curt Kirkwood.


  • Curt Kirkwood- vocals, guitars, arrangements
  • Cris Kirkwood- vocals, bass guitar
  • Shandon Sahm- drums, percussion
  • Douglas Heusser – design

Track listing:

All tracks by Curt Kirkwood, except where noted.

  1. Rat Farm
  2. One More Drop
  3. Down
  4. Leave Your Head Alone
  5. Again
  6. You Don’t Know
  7. Waiting
  8. Time and Money – Kylie Ellison, Curt Kirkwood
  9. Something Blue
  10. Original One
  11. River Rose
  12. Sweet

On February 28, 1995.

On February 28, 1995, “Columbia” label released “Ball-Hog or Tugboat?”, the debut Mike Watt solo album. It was recorded May – September 1994, and was produced by Mike Watt.


  • Mike Watt- bass, lead and background Vocals, spoken word
  • Dave Grohl- drums, guitar
  • Nels Cline- guitar, slide guitar, lead guitar, nylon guitar
  • Eddie Vedder- guitar, lead and background vocals
  • J Mascis- guitar, drums
  • Cris Kirkwood- banjo
  • Curt Kirkwood, Gary Lee Conner- lead guitar
  • Krist Novoselic- Farfisa organ
  • Carla Bozulich- vocals, background vocals
  • Michael Preussner, Bob Lee- drums
  • Joe Baiza, Zander Schloss, John Strohm, Thurston Moore, Lee Ranaldo, Butler, Todd Rigione- guitar
  • Paul Roessler- piano
  • Danny Frankel- percussion
  • Spot- mandolin, viola
  • Evan Dando- vocals
  • Anna Waronker, Rachel Haden, Coco Hayley Gordon Moore, Mario Caldato Jr.- background vocals
  • Petra Haden- background vocals, violin
  • Frank Black, Henry Rollins, Mark Lanegan, Michael Diamond, Pat Smear, Dave Pirner, Tiffany Anders- vocals
  • Keith McCaw- acoustic guitar
  • Stephen Perkins- percussion, drums
  • Steve Shelley, Wayne Griffin, Brock Avery, John Molo, Richie West – drums
  • Epic Soundtracks- tambourine
  • Tony Atherton- alto saxophone
  • Flea- Lead Bass, Pocket trumpet
  • Vince Meghrouni- percussion, background vocals, vocals, drums, tenor saxophone
  • Kathleen Hanna- spoken word
  • Bernie Worrell- B3 organ
  • Adam Horovitz- drums, guitar, background vocals
  • Ronda Rindone- bass clarinet
  • Tony Maxwell- cello

Track listing:

All tracks by Mike Watt; except where noted.

  1. Big Train – Tony Kinman, Chip Kinman
  2. Against The 70’s
  3. Drove Up From Pedro
  4. Piss-Bottle Man
  5. Chinese Firedril – Mike Watt, Joe Carducci
  6. Intense Song For Madonna To Sing
  7. Tuff Gnarl – Sonic Youth
  8. Sexual Military Dynamics – Mike Watt, Henry Rollins
  9. Max And Wells
  10. E-Ticket Ride
  11. .. One Reporter’s Opinion
  12. Song For Igor
  13. Tell ‘Em Boy!
  14. Sidemouse Advice
  15. Heartbeat
  16. Maggot Brain – George Clinton, Eddie Hazel
  17. Coincidence Is Either Hit Or Miss

In March 1985.

In March 1985, “SST” label released “Up on the Sun”, the third Meat Puppets album. It was recorded in January 1985, at “Total Access Studios” in Redondo Beach, California, and was produced by Spot.


  • Curt Kirkwood– guitar, vocals
  • Cris Kirkwood– bass, vocals
  • Derrick Bostrom– drums
  • Spot– engineer
  • Curt Kirkwood – cover artwork
  • Derrick Bostrom – sleeve artwork
  • Isaac Betesh – vinyl mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Curt Kirkwood, except where noted.

  1. Up on the Sun
  2. Maiden’s Milk – Curt Kirkwood, Cris Kirkwood
  3. Away
  4. Animal Kingdom – Curt Kirkwood, Cris Kirkwood
  5. Hot Pink
  6. Swimming Ground
  7. Buckethead
  8. Too Real
  9. Enchanted Porkfist
  10. Seal Whales
  11. Two Rivers
  12. Creator

On May 12, 2009.


On May 12, 2009, “Megaforce Records” label released “Sewn Together”, the twelfth Meat Puppets studio album. It was recorded in 2009 at the “Saltmine” in Phoenix, Arizona, and was produced by Curt Kirkwood.


  • Curt Kirkwood- vocals, guitars, mandolin
  • Cris Kirkwood- bass guitar, synthesizers, vocals
  • Ted Marcus- drums; organ

Track listing:

  1. Sewn Together
  2. Blanket of Weeds
  3. I’m Not You
  4. Sapphire
  5. Rotten Shame
  6. Go to Your Head
  7. Clone
  8. Smoke
  9. K.A.
  10. Nursery Rhyme
  11. The Monkey and the Snake
  12. Love Mountain

On November 1, 1994.


On November 1, 1994, “DGC” label released “MTV Unplugged in New York”, live Nirvana album. It features band’s acoustic performance at “Sony Music Studios” in New York, on November 18, 1993, recorded for “MTV Unplugged” television series. This was first Nirvana album released after Kurt Cobain death and became band’s most successful posthumous release, being certified 5 times platinum in the United States by 1997. The album won “Grammy Award” for “Best Alternative Music Album”. The album was produced by Alex Coletti, Scott Litt and Nirvana.


  • Kurt Cobain– lead vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Krist Novoselic– acoustic bass, accordion, acoustic rhythm guitar
  • Dave Grohl– drums, backing vocals, acoustic bass
  • Pat Smear– acoustic guitar
  • Lori Goldston– cello
  • Cris Kirkwood– acoustic bass, backing vocals
  • Curt Kirkwood– acoustic guitar
  • Robert Fisher – art direction, design
  • Stephen Marcussen– mastering
  • Frank Micelotta – photography

Track listing:

All compositions by Kurt Cobain, except where noted.

  1. About a Girl
  2. Come as You Are
  3. Jesus Doesn’t Want Me for a Sunbeam – Eugene Kelly and Frances McKee
  4. The Man Who Sold the World – David Bowie
  5. Pennyroyal Tea
  6. Dumb
  7. Polly
  8. On a Plain
  9. Something in the Way
  10. Plateau – Curt Kirkwood
  11. Oh, Me – Curt Kirkwood
  12. Lake of Fire – Curt Kirkwood
  13. All Apologies
  14. Where Did You Sleep Last Night – Traditional; arranged by Lead Belly