Don McLean: Same (third album)

In November 1972, “United Artists” label released the self-titled, third Don McLean album. It was recorded in 1972, at “Record Plant Studios” in New York City and was produced by Ed Freeman.


  • Don McLean – guitar, vocals
  • Warren Bernhardt – piano
  • Dick Hyman – piano
  • Neil Larsen – piano
  • Ed Trickett – hammered dulcimer
  • Don Brooks – harmonica
  • Howard “Buzz” Feiten – guitar
  • Tony Levin – bass
  • Bob Rothstein – bass, vocals
  • Russ Savakus – bass, violin, vocals
  • Chris Parker – drums
  • Ralph MacDonald – percussion, conga
  • George Ricci – cello
  • Ed Freeman – string arrangements
  • West Forty Fourth Street Rhythm and Noise Choir – chorus
  • Tom Flye, Dennis Ferrante, Ed Sprigg, Rod O’Brien – engineer
  • John Olson – cover photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Don McLean, except where noted.

  1. Dreidel
  2. Bronco Bill’s Lament
  3. Oh, My What a Shame
  4. If We Try
  5. The More You Pay (The More It’s Worth)
  6. Narcisissima
  7. Falling Through Time
  8. On the Amazon – Vivian Ellis, Clifford Grey, Greatrex Newman
  9. Birthday Song
  10. The Pride Parade

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.