On June 21, 1968.


On June 21, 1968, “Decca” label released “Bare Wires”, the eight John Mayall’s Bluesbrakers album. It was recorded in April 1968, at “Decca Studios”  in London, and was produced by Mike Vernon and John Mayall. “Bare Wires” was the last John Mayall studio album to feature the name “Bluesbreakers”.


  • John Mayall– vocals,  harmonica,  piano,  harpsichord,  organ, harmonium, guitar
  • Peter Green– guitar
  • Mick Taylor– lead guitar, Hawaiian guitar
  • Tony Reeves– string bass, bass guitar
  • Jon Hiseman– drums, percussion
  • Keef Hartley– drums
  • Dick Heckstall-Smith – soprano and tenorsaxophone
  • Chris Mercer –tenor and baritone saxophone
  • Henry Lowther– cornet, violin
  • Derek Varnals – engineer
  • Pete Smith, Jan Persson –photography

Track listing:

All tracks by John Mayall, except where noted.

  1. Bare Wires Suite (Medley)
  • Bare Wires
  • Where Did I Belong
  • I Started Walking
  • Open Up A New Door
  • Fire
  • I Know Now
  • Look In The Mirror
  1. I’m a Stranger
  2. No Reply – John Mayall, Mick Taylor
  3. Hartley Quits – Mick Taylor
  4. Killing Time
  5. She’s Too Young
  6. Sandy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.