Tag Archives: Dave Baker

On February 11, 1977.

On February 11, 1977, “Deram” label released “Songwriter”, the second Justin Hayward album. It was recorded June – December 1976, at “Threshold” in London, and was produced by Tony Clarke, Justin Hayward and Martin Wyatt.


  • Justin Hayward – vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, drums, bass, violin, cello, flute, tambourine
  • Jim Cockey – violin
  • Tom Tompkins – viola
  • Tim Tompkins – cello
  • Mel Galley– bass
  • Terry Rowley – guitar
  • Dave Holland– drums
  • Ken Freeman– keyboards
  • Doremi Hayward – backing vocals
  • Peter Knight- strings arranger, conductor
  • Tony Clarke, Derek Varnals, Dave Baker – engineer
  • Dean Rod – assistant engineer
  • Gary Ladinkski – mixing

Track listing:

All tracks by Justin Hayward.

  1. Tightrope
  2. Songwriter Part 1
  3. Songwriter Part 2
  4. Country Girl
  5. One Lonely Room
  6. Lay It on Me
  7. Stage Door
  8. Raised on Love
  9. Doin’ Time
  10. Nostradamus



On September 19, 1995.


On September 19, 1995, “Beggars Banquet” label released “See You on the Other Side”, the third Mercury Rev studio album. It was recorded in 1995, and was produced by Jonathan Donahue, Dave Fridmann, Grasshopper, Suzanne Thorpe and Jimy Chambers. This was the first band’s album after the departure of former lead singer Dave Baker. The album cover is taken from a 1975 “7 Up” commercial entitled “Uncola”.


  • Dave Fridmann– bass explore, B-3, Pianos, dual vocals
  • Jonathan Donahue– vocals, harmony rocket guitars, guitorgan, bowed saws and sounds
  • Jimy Chambers – drumming, mojo stick, Wurlitzer electric pianos
  • Grasshopper– guitar shapes, single exhaust clarinet, Tettix Wave accumulator
  • Suzanne Thorpe –quartz arhoolie flutes, French horns
  • All horns and stringsarranged by Jonathan Donahue, Grasshopper, except “Sudden Ray of Hope” by Jimy Chambers/Suzanne Thorpe
  • Mark Marinoff – saxophones
  • Matt Jordan – trumpets
  • Rachel Handman – strings
  • Chris Reilly – tablas
  • Jake Congelo – piano
  • Carmen Quinoñes – Female Vocals
  • Tomcat Stamos – Expressed Male Interruptions

Track listing:

  1. Empire State (Son House in Excelsis) – Jonathan Donahue, Sean “Grasshopper” Mackowiak, Suzanne Thorpe
  2. Young Man’s Stride – Jonathan Donahue, Sean “Grasshopper” Mackowiak
  3. Sudden Ray of Hope – Jimy Chambers, Jonathan Donahue, Dave Fridmann, Sean “Grasshopper” Mackowiak, Suzanne Thorpe
  4. Everlasting Arm – Jonathan Donahue, Sean “Grasshopper” Mackowiak, Suzanne Thorpe
  5. Racing the Tide – Jimy Chambers, Jonathan Donahue,Sean “Grasshopper” Mackowiak, Suzanne Thorpe
  6. Close Encounters of the 3rd Grade – Jimy Chambers, Jonathan Donahue, Dave Fridmann, Sean “Grasshopper” Mackowiak, Suzanne Thorpe
  7. A Kiss from An Old Flame (A Trip to the Moon) – Jonathan Donahue, Sean “Grasshopper” Mackowiak
  8. Peaceful Night – Jonathan Donahue, Sean “Grasshopper” Mackowiak