Mellow Candle: Swaddling Songs

In April 1972, “Deram” label released “Swaddling Songs”, the only Mellow Candle album. It was recorded in December 1971, and was produced by David Hitchcock.


  • Clodagh Simonds – lead and backing vocals, piano, harpsichord, mellotron
  • Alison Williams – lead and backing vocals
  • David Williams – guitar, backing vocals
  • Frank Boylan – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • William Murray – drums, percussion
  • Derek Varnals – engineer
  • Kevin Fuller – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Clodagh Simonds, except where noted.

  1. Heaven Heath – Alison Williams
  2. Sheep Season – Clodagh Simonds, Alison Williams, David Williams
  3. Silversong
  4. The Poet and the Witch
  5. Messenger Birds – Alice Williams
  6. Dan the Wing
  7. Reverend Sisters
  8. Break Your Token
  9. Buy or Beware – David Williams
  10. Vile Excesses – David Williams, William Murray
  11. Lonely Man
  12. Boulders on My Grave

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.