John McLaughlin: Promise

On December 21, 1995, “Verve” label released “The Promise”, the eleventh John McLaughlin album. It was recorded in 1995, and was produced by John McLaughlin and Eddie Kramer.


  • John McLaughlin – acoustic, electric and MIDI guitar, keyboards, engineer, mixing
  • Al Di Meola– acoustic guitar
  • Paco de Lucía– acoustic guitar
  • Jeff Beck– electric guitar
  • Nishat Khan– vocals, sitar
  • Jim Beard– keyboards
  • Joey DeFrancesco– Hammond organ, trumpet
  • Tony Hymas– keyboards
  • Yan Maresz – acoustic bass, bass guitar, arrangements
  • James Genus– bass guitar
  • Pino Palladino– bass
  • Sting– bass
  • Dennis Chambers– drums
  • Vinnie Colaiuta– drums
  • Mark Mondesir – drums
  • Trilok Gurtu– percussion
  • Don Alias– percussion
  • Zakir Hussain– tabla
  • Mariko Takahashi– vocals
  • David Sanborn– alto sax
  • Michael Brecker– tenor sax
  • Max Costa – arranger, engineer, mixing
  • René Ameline, Gustav Hobel, Ken Jones, Eddie Kramer, Maurice Ouazana, Rd Rak – engineer
  • Philippe Arnal, Adam Blackburn, Steve Cook, Simon Osborne – engineer assistant
  • Sven Hoffman – engineer assistant
  • Alberto Mayer – design
  • Christian Rose – photography
  • Jean-Philippe Allard – executive producer
  • Christian Pégand – production coordination

Track listing:

All tracks by John McLaughlin, except where noted.

  1. Django – John Lewis
  2. Thelonius Melodius
  3. Amy and Joseph
  4. No Return
  5. El Ciego
  6. Jazz Jungle
  7. The Wish
  8. English Jam – Vinnie Colaiuta, John McLaughlin, Sting
  9. Tokyo Decadence
  10. Shin Jin Rui
  11. The Peacocks – Jimmy Rowles

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.