Tag Archives: Private Music

Etta James: Mystery Lady: Songs of Billie Holiday

On March 15, 1996, “Private Music” label released “Mystery Lady: Songs of Billie Holiday, the 19th Etta James album. It was recorded in 1995, and was produced by John Snyder.


  • Etta James – vocal
  • Cedar Walton – piano, arrangements
  • Josh Sclair – guitar
  • Tony Dumas – bass
  • Ealph Penland – drums
  • Ralph Penland – percussion
  • Red Holloway – alto and tenor saxophone
  • Ronnie Buttacavoli – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Kraig Kilby – trombone
  • Jay Newland – engineer
  • Mark Guilbeault – engineer assistant
  • Jay Newland – mastering
  • Lupe DeLeon – executive producer

Track listing:

  1. Don’t Explain – Arthur Herzog Jr,. Billie Holiday
  2. You’ve Changed – Bill Carey, Carl Fischer
  3. The Man I Love – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin
  4. I Don’t Stand a Ghost of a Chance (With You) – Bing Crosby, Ned Washington, Roger Ramirez
  5. Lover Man (Where Can You Be) – Jimmy Davis, Jimmy Sherman, Roger Ramirez
  6. Embraceable You – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin
  7. How Deep Is the Ocean – Irving Berlin
  8. (I’m Afraid) The Masquerade Is Over – Allie Wrubel, Herb Magidson
  9. Body and Soul – Edward Heyman, Frank Eyton, John Green, Bob Sour
  10. The Very Thought of You – Ray Noble
  11. I’ll Be Seeing You – Irving Kahal, Sammy Fain

On April 7, 1998.

On April 7, 1998, “Private Music” label released “Sacred Island”, album by Taj Mahal and The Hula Blues Band. It was recorded in May 1997, at “Messenger Studios” in Hawaii, and was produced by Carey Williams.


  • Taj Mahal – vocals, guitar, harmonica
  • Carlos Andrade – lead and backing vocals, guitar, slack key guitar, tenor Ukelele, ukulele
  • Rudy Costa – clarinet, flute, kalimba, pan pipes, alto curved soprano saxophone, zither, background vocals
  • Wayne Jacinhto – guitar, slack key guitar, tenor ukelele, ukulele, background vocals
  • Patrick Cockett – liliu ukulele, ukulele, background vocals
  • Michael Barretto – ukulele, background vocals
  • Pancho Graham – acoustic guitar, acoustic guitar, background vocals
  • Fred Lunt – steel guitar
  • Kester Smith – drums, cowbell
  • Carey Williams – background vocals
  • John Gilleron – engineer
  • Daryn Roven – mixing
  • Dug Nichols – mixing
  • Bernd Steinwedel – mastering
  • Sonny Mediana – art direction
  • Petra Hanisch – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Taj Mahal, except where noted.

  1. The Calypsonians
  2. Coconut Man – Frederic Hibbert
  3. Sacred Island (Moku La’a)
  4. Betty and Dupree – Chuck Willis
  5. The New Hula Blues
  6. No Na Mamo – Carlos Andrade
  7. Mailbox Blues
  8. Kanikapila – Taj Mahal, Rudy Costa, Kester Smith, Pancho Graham


On June 29, 1999.

On June 29, 1999, “Private Music” label released “One Guitar No Vocals”, the eighteenth Leo Kottke studio album. It was recorded in 1999, at “Hudson-Forrester Studios” in Edina, and was produced by Leo Kottke.


  • Leo Kottke – 6 and12-string guitar
  • Sam Hudson – engineer
  • Doug Sax – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Leo Kottke.

  1. Snorkel
  2. Morning is the Long Way Home
  3. Too Fast
  4. Three Quarter North
  5. Retrograde
  6. Chamber of Commerce
  7. From ‘Little Treasure’
  8. Bigger Situation
  9. Accordion Bells
  10. Peckerwood
  11. Blimp
  12. Even His Feet Look Sad

On May 22, 1992.

On May 22, 1992, “Private Music” label released “Time Takes Time”, the tenth Ringo Starr album. It was recorded March – September 1991, February 1992, and was produced by Don Was, Jeff Lynne,   Peter Asher and Phil Ramone.


  • Ringo Starr– lead vocals, drums, percussion
  • Jeff Lynne– guitars, bass, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Mark Goldenberg, Waddy Wachtel– guitars
  • Andrew Gold, Roger Manning, Andy Sturmer– guitars, backing vocals
  • Michael Landau, David Grissom, Michael Thompson, Jeff Baxter– guitars
  • Mark Hart– guitars, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Benmont Tench, Robbie Buchanan, Jeffrey Vanston, Jamie Muhoberac– keyboards
  • James “Hutch” Hutchinson, Bob Glaub, Neil Stubenhaus– bass
  • Peter Asher– tambourine, backing vocals
  • Mark Hudson– percussion, backing vocals
  • Jim Horn– saxophone
  • Suzie Katayama – cello
  • Harry Nilsson– vocals
  • Raven Kane, Rosemary Butler, Valerie Carter, Terri Wood, Carmen Twillie, Wendy Fraser, Stephanie Spruill, Andrea Robinson, Bobbi Page, Doug Fieger, Berton Averre, Mark Hart, Craig Copeland, Naomi Star, Darlene Koldenhoven, Kathryn Cotter, Mark Warman, Brian Wilson, Doug Fieger, Brian O’Doherty – backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Weight of the World – Brian O’Doherty, Fred Velez
  2. Don’t Know a Thing About Love – Richard Feldman, Stan Lynch
  3. Don’t Go Where the Road Don’t Go – Richard Starkey, Johnny Warman, Gary Grainger
  4. Golden Blunders – Jonathan Auer, Kenneth Stringfellow
  5. All in the Name of Love – Jerry Lynn Williams
  6. After All These Years – Richard Starkey, Johnny Warman
  7. I Don’t believe You – Andy Sturmer, Roger Manning
  8. Runaways – Richard Starkey, Johnny Warman
  9. It’s a Heartbeat – Diane Warren
  10. What Goes Around – Rick Suchow