Tag Archives: Willie Ruff

On October 21, 1957.

On October 21, 1957, “Columbia” label released “Miles Ahead”, the second Miles Davis album for this label. It was recorded May 6, 10, 23, 27 – August 22, 1957, at “Columbia 30th Street Studio” in New York City, and was produced by George Avakian and Cal Lampley.


  • Miles Davis – flugelhorn
  • Gil Evans– arranger, conductor
  • Bernie Glow– lead trumpet
  • Ernie Royal, Louis Mucci, Taft Jordan, John Carisi– trumpet
  • Frank Rehak, Jimmy Cleveland, Joe Bennett – trombone
  • Tom Mitchell – bass trombone
  • Willie Ruff, Tony Miranda, Jim Buffington – French horn
  • Bill Barber– tuba
  • Lee Konitz– alto sax
  • Danny Bank– bass clarinet
  • Romeo Penque, Sid Cooper – flute, clarinet
  • Paul Chambers– double bass
  • Art Taylor– drums
  • Wynton Kelly- piano

Track listing:

  1. Springsville – John Carisi
  2. The Maids of Cadiz – Léo Delibes
  3. The Duke – Dave Brubeck
  4. My Ship – Kurt Weill
  5. Miles Ahead – Miles Davis, Gil Evans
  6. Blues for Pablo – Gil Evans
  7. New Rhumba – Ahmad Jamal
  8. Medley Pt. 1: The Meaning of the Blues – Bobby Troup, Leah Worth
  9. Medley Pt. 2: Lament – J. Johnson
  10. I Don’t Wanna Be Kissed (By Anyone but You) – Jack Elliot, Harold Spina

On January 6, 1993.


On January 6, 1993, John Birks “Dizzy” Gillespie died aged 75. He was musician, singer, composer and bandleader, trumpet virtuoso and improviser,  regarded as one of the greatest jazz trumpeters of all time. Together with Charlie Parker, Gillespie was major figure in the development of bebop and modern jazz. He has recorded and performed with some of the most important musicians in the jazz history, including Charlie Parker, Bud Powell, Charles Mingus, Max Roach, Stan Getz, Sonny Stit,Coleman Hawkins, Sonny Rollins,Benny Golson, Bobby Hackett, Mary Lou Williams, Willie Ruff, Dwike Mitchell, Art Blakey, Al McKibbon, Thelonious Monk, Kai Winding, Joe Turner, Roy Eldridge, Harry “Sweets” Edison, Clark Terry, Oscar Peterson, John Lewis, Hank Jones, Percy Heath, Roy Eldridge,  Machito, Benny Carter, Lalo Schifrin, Count Basie, Freddie Hubbard,  Arturo Sandoval, Phil Woods, Moe Koffman, United Nation Orchestra, Jackie McLean, Percy Heath, Ron Holloway, Ed Cherry, John Lee, Ignacio Berroa, Duke Ellington, Quincy Jones, Gene Krupa, Buddy Rich, Mike Longo, Manhattan Transfer,  Carmen McRae, Katie Bell Nubin,  Mongo Santamaria, Woody Shaw, Lillian Terry and Randy Weston.


On October 18, 1971.


On October 18, 1971, “Elektra” label released “Other Voices”, the seventh Doors studio album. It was recorded in 1971 and was produced by Bruce Botnick, Ray Manzarek, Robby Krieger, and John Densmore. “Other Voices” was the first Doors album released following the death of Jim Morrison. The three remaining Doors members released the album in October, three months after Morrison’s death.


  • Ray Manzarek– vocals, keyboards
  • Robby Krieger– vocals, guitar, harmonica
  • John Densmore– drums
  • Jack Conrad – bass
  • Jerry Scheff– bass
  • Wolfgang Melz – bass
  • Ray Neapolitan – bass
  • Willie Ruff– acoustic bass
  • Francisco Aguabella– percussion
  • Emil Richards– marimba, kickshaws and whimwhams

Track listing:

  1. In the Eye of the Sun – Ray Manzarek
  2. Variety is the Spice of Life – Robby Krieger
  3. Ships / Sails – Robby Krieger, John Densmore
  4. Tightrope Ride – Ray Manzarek, Robby Krieger
  5. Down on the Farm – Robby Krieger
  6. I’m Horny, I’m Stoned – Robby Krieger
  7. Wandering Musician – Robby Krieger
  8. Hang on to Your Life – Ray Manzarek, Robby Krieger