On October 18, 1971.


On October 18, 1971, “Elektra” label released “Other Voices”, the seventh Doors studio album. It was recorded in 1971 and was produced by Bruce Botnick, Ray Manzarek, Robby Krieger, and John Densmore. “Other Voices” was the first Doors album released following the death of Jim Morrison. The three remaining Doors members released the album in October, three months after Morrison’s death.


  • Ray Manzarek– vocals, keyboards
  • Robby Krieger– vocals, guitar, harmonica
  • John Densmore– drums
  • Jack Conrad – bass
  • Jerry Scheff– bass
  • Wolfgang Melz – bass
  • Ray Neapolitan – bass
  • Willie Ruff– acoustic bass
  • Francisco Aguabella– percussion
  • Emil Richards– marimba, kickshaws and whimwhams

Track listing:

  1. In the Eye of the Sun – Ray Manzarek
  2. Variety is the Spice of Life – Robby Krieger
  3. Ships / Sails – Robby Krieger, John Densmore
  4. Tightrope Ride – Ray Manzarek, Robby Krieger
  5. Down on the Farm – Robby Krieger
  6. I’m Horny, I’m Stoned – Robby Krieger
  7. Wandering Musician – Robby Krieger
  8. Hang on to Your Life – Ray Manzarek, Robby Krieger

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.