Tag Archives: Willard Robison

In January 1968.

In January 1968, “Blue Note” label released “Open House”, the 45th Jimmy Smith album. It was recorded in March 1960, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Jimmy Smith – organ
  • Quentin Warren – guitar
  • Donald Bailey – drums
  • Blue Mitchell – trumpet
  • Jackie McLean – alto saxophone
  • Ike Quebec – tenor saxophone
  • Rudy Van Gelder – engineer
  • Reid Miles – design
  • Francis Wolff – photography
  • Leonard Feather – liner notes

Track listing:

  1. Open House – Jimmy Smith
  2. Old Folks – Willard Robison, Dedette Lee Hill
  3. Sista Rebecca – Jimmy Smith
  4. Embraceable You – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin

In December 1968.

In December 1968, “King Records” released “Thinking About Little Willie John and a Few Nice Things”, the 21st James Brown studio album. It was recorded in 1968, and was produced by James Brown. The album was tribute to Little Willie John, R&B singer from the mid-1950s to the 1960s, who died earlier same year.


  • James Brown – vocals
  • The Dapps
  • New York Studio Orchestra
  • Ron Lenhoff – engineer
  • W. Hughes – design
  • E. Speedy Brown – photography
  • Bud Hobgood – production manager

Track listing:

  1. Talk to Me, Talk to Me – Joe Seneca
  2. Suffering With the Blues – Lloyd Pemberton, Teddy Conyers
  3. Cottage for Sale – Larry Conley, Willard Robison
  4. Billy Bailey – traditional
  5. Home at Least – Rudy Toombs
  6. Heart Break (It’s Hurtin’ Me) – Jon Thomas, Carlee Hoyle
  7. What Kind of Man – James Brown, Bud Hobgood, Eddie Setser, Troy Seals
  8. A Note or Two Pt. I – James Brown, Bud Hobgood
  9. I’ll lose My Mind – James Brown, Bud Hobgood, Bobby Byrd
  10. Fat Eddie – James Brown, Bud Hobgood, Ron Lenhoff
  11. You gave My Heart a Song to Sing – James Brown, Bud Hobgood, Bobby Byrd
  12. A Note Or Two Pt. II – James Brown, Bud Hobgood

On July 17, 2012.

On July 17, 2012, “HihgNote” label released “Wonderful! Wonderful!”, the 31st Joey DeFrancesco album. It was recorded in March 2012, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood, NJ, and was produced by Joey DeFrancesco and Don Sickler.


  • Joey DeFrancesco– Hammond B3, trumpet
  • Larry Coryell– guitar
  • Jimmy Cobb– drums

Track listing:

  1. Wonderful! Wonderful! – Sherman Edwards, Ben Raleigh
  2. Five Spot After Dark – Benny Golson
  3. Wagon Wheels – Billy Hill, Peter DeRose
  4. Solitude – Duke Ellington, Eddie DeLange, Irving Mills
  5. Joey D – Larry Coryell
  6. Love Letters – Victor Young, Edward Heyman
  7. Old Folks – Willard Robison, Dedette Lee Hill
  8. JLJ Blues – Joey DeFrancesco


In June 1957.

In June 1957, “Blue Note” label released “Wailing With Lou”, the fifth Lou Donaldson album. It was recorded in January 1957, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Lou Donaldson- alto saxophone
  • Donald Byrd- trumpet
  • Herman Foster- piano
  • Peck Morrison- bass
  • Art Taylor- drums
  • Rudy Van Gelder- engineer
  • Reid Miles- design
  • Francis Wolff- photography

 Track listing:

All tracks by Lou Donaldson except where noted.

  1. Caravan – Duke Ellington, Irving Mills, Juan Tizol
  2. Old Folks – Dedette Lee Hill, Willard Robison
  3. That Good Old Feeling
  4. Move It
  5. There Is No Greater Love – Isham Jones, Marty Symes
  6. D. Blues

On April 11, 2000.

On April 11, 2000, “High Note” label released “New High”, the 48th Larry Coryell album. It was recorded in September 1999, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Don Sickler.


  • Larry Coryell– guitar
  • Shunzo Ono – trumpet
  • Ronnie Mathews– piano
  • Mark Sherman– vibraphone
  • Buster Williams– bass
  • Yoron Israel– drums

Tracks listing:

All tracks by Larry Coryell except where noted

  1. Bags’ Groove – Milt Jackson
  2. Like Sonny – John Coltrane
  3. Funereal
  4. Ursula – Harold Land
  5. John Charles – Ronnie Mathews
  6. Spiral Staircase – Mark Sherman
  7. Old Folks – Willard Robison, Dedette Lee Hill
  8. New High


In February 1959.

In February 1959, “Bethlehem Records” label released “Little Girl Blue”, the debut Nina Simone album. It was recorded in December 1957, in New York City.


  • Nina Simone– vocals, piano, arrangements
  • Jimmy Bond– double bass
  • Albert “Tootie” Heath– drums
  • Joseph Muranyi– liner notes

Track listing:

  1. Mood Indigo – Duke Ellington, Barney Bigard, Irving Mills
  2. Don’t Smoke in Bed – Willard Robison
  3. He Needs Me – Arthur Hamilton
  4. Little Girl Blue – Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart
  5. Love Me or Leave Me – Walter Donaldson, Gus Kahn
  6. My Baby Just Cares for Me – Walter Donaldson, Gus Kahn
  7. Good Bait – Count Basie, Tadd Dameron
  8. Plain Gold Ring – George Stone (aka Earl Burroughs)
  9. You’ll Never Walk Alone – Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II
  10. I Loves You, Porgy – DuBose Heyward, George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin
  11. Central Park Blues – Nina Simone

In December 1961.

In December 1961, “Columbia” label released “Someday My Prince Will Come”, the 35th Miles Davis album. It was recorded in March 1961, at “Columbia’s 30th Street Studio” in Manhattan, New York City, and was produced by Teo Mecero.


  • Miles Davis– trumpet
  • Hank Mobley– tenor saxophone
  • John Coltrane– tenor saxophone
  • Wynton Kelly– piano
  • Paul Chambers– bass
  • Jimmy Cobb– drums
  • Philly Joe Jones– drums
  • Fred Plaut, Frank Laico – engineers
  • Bob Cato– cover design
  • Frances Davis – cover model

Track listing:

  1. Someday My Prince Will Come – Frank Churchill, Larry Morey
  2. Old Folks – Willard Robison, Dedette Lee Hill
  3. Pfrancing – Miles Davis
  4. Drad-Dog – Miles Davis
  5. Teo – Miles Davis
  6. I Thought About You – Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Mercer


On August 26, 1966.


On August 26, 1966, “Philips” label released “Portrait”, the second Walker Brothers album. It was recorded in 1966, and was produced by John Franz.


  • John Walker– vocals, guitar
  • Scott Walker- vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Gary Walker– vocals, drums
  • Ivor Raymonde- music director
  • Dezo Hoffman – photography
  • Keith Altham – sleeve notes

Track listing:

  1. In My Room – Joaquin Prieto, Paul Vance, Lee Pockriss
  2. Saturday’s Child – Scott Engel
  3. Just for a Thrill – Lil Armstrong, Don Raye
  4. Hurting Each Other – Peter Udell, Gary Geld
  5. Old Folks – Willard Robison, Dedette Lee Hill
  6. Summertime – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, Dubose Heyward
  7. People Get Ready – Curtis Mayfield
  8. I Can See It Now – Scott Engel, John Franz
  9. Where’s the Girl – Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller
  10. Living Above Your Head – Kenny Vance, Mark D. Sanders, J.A. Black
  11. Take It Like a Man – Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller
  12. No Sad Songs for Me – Tom Springfield