Tag Archives: Paul Vance

In August 1983.

In August 1983, “Some Bizzare” label released “Torment and Toreros”, the second Marc and the Mambas studio album. It was recorded January – May 1983, at “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by Marc Almond.


  • Marc Almond – vocals, guitar, percussion, mixing
  • Annie Hogan – vocals, piano, harpsichord, Farfisa organ
  • Steve Sherlock – flute, saxophone
  • Lee Jenkinson – vocals, bass, guitar, drums
  • Matt Johnson – guitar
  • Peter Ashworth – drums, timpani
  • Frank Want – drums
  • The Venomettes – string arrangements

       Anne Stephenson – violin

       Ginny Hewes – violin

       Martin McCarrick – cello

       Billy McGee – double bass

  • Flood – mixing
  • Huw Feather – design
  • Peter Ashworth – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Marc Almond, except where noted.

  1. Intro – Marc Almond, Sally Mambas
  2. Boss Cat – lyrics by Marc Almond, music by Anne Stephenson, Ginny Hewes
  3. The Bulls – Jacques Brel
  4. Catch a Fallen Star
  5. The Animal in You – Marc Almond, Sally Mambas
  6. In My Room – Joaquin Prieto, English lyrics by Lee Pockriss, Paul Vance
  7. First Time
  8. (Your Love Is A) Lesion
  9. My Former Self – Marc Almond, Annie Hogan
  10. Once Was – Marc Almond, The Venomettes
  11. The Untouchable One – Marc Almond, Lee Jenkinson
  12. Blood Wedding – traditional Spanish song
  13. Black Heart – Marc Almond, Annie Hogan
  14. Medley: Narcissus/Gloomy Sunday/Vision – Marc Almond, Steve Sherlock, Sam M. Lewis, Rezső Seress, Peter Hammill
  15. Torment – Marc Almond, Steven Severin, Robert Smith
  16. A Million Manias – Marc Almond, Foetus
  17. My Little Book of Sorrows
  18. Beat out that Rhythm on a Drum – Georges Bizet, Oscar Hammerstein II

In November 1964.

In November 1964, “Reprise” label released “Softly, as I Leave You”, album by Frank Sinatra. It was recorded August 1962 – October 1964, in Los Angeles, and was produced by Jimmy Bowen and Sonny Burke.


  • Frank Sinatra- vocals
  • Neal Hefti- conductor
  • Nelson Riddle- arranger, conductor
  • Marty Paich- arranger
  • Ernie Freeman- arranger
  • Billy May- arranger

Track listing:

  1. Emily – Johnny Mandel, Johnny Mercer
  2. Here’s to the Losers – Robert Wells, Jack Segal
  3. Dear Heart – Jay Livingston, Ray Evans, Henry Mancini
  4. Come Blow Your Horn – Sammy Cahn, Jimmy Van Heusen
  5. Love Isn’t Just for the Young – Bernard Knee
  6. I Can’t Believe I’m Losing You – Don Costa, Phil Zeller
  7. Pass Me By – Cy Coleman, Carolyn Leigh
  8. Softly, as I Leave You – Hal Shaper, Antonio DeVito, Giorgio Calabrese
  9. Then Suddenly Love – Ray Alfred, Paul Vance
  10. Available – Sammy Cahn, Ned Wynn, L.B. Marks
  11. Talk to Me Baby – Robert E. Dolan, Johnny Mercer
  12. The Look of Love – Sammy Cahn, Van Heusen

On August 26, 1966.


On August 26, 1966, “Philips” label released “Portrait”, the second Walker Brothers album. It was recorded in 1966, and was produced by John Franz. The sleeve notes were written by Keith Altham, photography by Dezo Hoffman.


  • Gary Walker– drums, vocals
  • John Walker– guitar, vocals
  • Scott Walker- vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Ivor Raymonde- music director

Track listing:

  1. In My Room – Joaquin Prieto, Paul Vance, Lee Pockriss
  2. Saturday’s Child – Scott Engel
  3. Just for a Thrill – Lil Armstrong, Don Raye
  4. Hurting Each Other – Peter Udell, Gary Geld
  5. Old Folks – Willard Robison, Dedette Lee Hill
  6. Summertime – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, Dubose Heyward
  7. People Get Ready – Curtis Mayfield
  8. I Can See It Now – Scott Engel, John Franz
  9. Where’s the Girl – Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller
  10. Living Above Your Head – Kenny Vance, Mark D. Sanders, J.A. Black
  11. Take It Like a Man – Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller
  12. No Sad Songs for Me – Tom Springfield