Tag Archives: Bob Cato

On January 15, 1968.

On January 15, 1968, “Columbia” label released “From Sea to Shining Sea”, the 26th Johnny Cash album. It was recorded March – April 1967, and was produced by Don Law and Frank Jones.


  • Johnny Cash – vocals, guitar
  • Carl Perkins – guitar 
  • Luther Perkins – guitar
  • Bob Johnson – guitar, banjo, dobro
  • Norman Blake – dobro
  • Charlie McCoy – harmonica
  • Marshall Grant – bass
  • W.S. Holland – drums
  • The Carter Family – background vocals
  • Charlie Bragg – engineer
  • Jerry Watson – engineer
  • Bob Cato – cover photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Johnny Cash.

  1. From Sea to Shining Sea
  2. The Whirl and the Suck
  3. Call daddy from the Mines
  4. The Frozen Four-Hundred-Pound Fair-to-Middlin’ Cotton Picker
  5. The Walls of a Prison
  6. The Masterpiece
  7. You and Tennessee
  8. Another Song to Sing
  9. The Flint Arrowhead
  10. Cisco Cliffton’s Filling Station
  11. Shrimpin’ Sailin’
  12. From Sea to Shining Sea (Finale)

In December 1961.

In December 1961, “Columbia” label released “Someday My Prince Will Come”, the 35th Miles Davis album. It was recorded in March 1961, at “Columbia’s 30th Street Studio” in Manhattan, New York City, and was produced by Teo Mecero.


  • Miles Davis– trumpet
  • Hank Mobley– tenor saxophone
  • John Coltrane– tenor saxophone
  • Wynton Kelly– piano
  • Paul Chambers– bass
  • Jimmy Cobb– drums
  • Philly Joe Jones– drums
  • Fred Plaut, Frank Laico – engineers
  • Bob Cato– cover design
  • Frances Davis – cover model

Track listing:

  1. Someday My Prince Will Come – Frank Churchill, Larry Morey
  2. Old Folks – Willard Robison, Dedette Lee Hill
  3. Pfrancing – Miles Davis
  4. Drad-Dog – Miles Davis
  5. Teo – Miles Davis
  6. I Thought About You – Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Mercer


In September 1970.

In September 1970, “Curtom” label released “Curtis”, the debut Curtis Mayfield solo album. It was recorded May – July 1970, at “RCA Studios” in Chicago, and was produced by Curtis Mayfield.


  • Curtis Mayfield – primary artist
  • Loren Binford, Sol Bobrob, Clifford Davis, Harold Dessent, Donald Simmons, Leonard Druss, Robert Lewis, Clifford Davis, Donald Simmons, Elliot Golub, Gary Slabo, Harold Klatz, Harold Lepp, Henry Gibson, John Howell, John Ross,Patrick Ferreri, Philip Upchurch, Richard Single, Robert Sims, Ronald Kolber, Rudolph Stauber, Sam Heiman – musicians
  • Bob Cato – photography, design
  • John A. Beck – design
  • J. Anfinson, Tom Flye – engineer
  • Riley Hampton, Gary Slabo – arranger
  • Dan Turbeville – assistant engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Curtis Mayfield.

  1. (Don’t Worry) If There’s a Hell Below, We’re All Going to Go
  2. The Other Side of Town
  3. The Makings of You
  4. We the People Who Are Darker Than Blue
  5. Move On Up
  6. Miss Black America
  7. Wild and Free
  8. Give It Up

In April 1975.

In April 1975, “A&M” label released “Diamonds & Rust”, the seventeenth Joan Baez album. It was recorded in January 1975, and was produced by Larry Carlton, David Kershenbaum and Joan Baez.


  • Joan Baez – vocals, acoustic guitar, synthesisers, arranger
  • Larry Carlton– electric guitar, acoustic guitar, arranger
  • Dean Parks– electric guitar, acoustic guitar
  • Wilton Felder– bass
  • Reinie Press – bass
  • Max Bennett– bass
  • Jim Gordon– drums
  • John Guerin– drums
  • Larry Knechtel– piano
  • Joe Sample– electric piano, Hammond organ
  • Hampton Hawes– piano
  • David Paich– piano, electric harpsichord
  • Red Rhodes– pedal steel guitar
  • Malcolm Cecil– synthesisers
  • Tom Scott– flute, saxophone, arranger
  • Jim Horn– saxophone
  • Joni Mitchell– vocal improvisation
  • Rick Lo Tempio – electric guitar
  • Ollie Mitchell – trumpet
  • Buck Monari – trumpet
  • Rick Riggieri – engineer
  • Henry Lewy – engineer
  • Ellis Sorkin – assistant engineer
  • Bob Cato – design

Track listing:

  1. Diamonds & Rust – Joan Baez
  2. Fountain of Sorrow – Jackson Browne
  3. Never Dreamed You’d Leave in Summer – Stevie Wonder, Syreeta Wright
  4. Children and All That Jazz – Joan Baez
  5. Simple Twist of Fate – Bob Dylan
  6. Blue Sky – Dickey Betts
  7. Hello in There – John Prine
  8. Jesse – Janis Ian
  9. Winds of the Old Days – Joan Baez
  10. Dida – Joan Baez – duet with Joni Mitchell
  11. Medley: I Dream of Jeannie – Stephen Foster / Danny Boy – Frederick Weatherly

On April 3, 1968.

Wow moby grape

On April 3, 1968, “Columbia” label released “Wow/Grape Jam”, the second Moby Grape album. It was recorded August 30, 1967 – February 5, 1968, January 16 – February 13, 1968, and was produced by David Rubinson. It was released as two different albums in separate covers, but packaged together and sold for one dollar more than price of a single LP. The album artwork of “Wow” was by Bob Cato.


  • Peter Lewis- rhythm guitar, vocals
  • Jerry Miller- lead guitar, vocals
  • Bob Mosley- bass, vocals
  • Skip Spence- rhythm guitar, vocals
  • Don Stevenson- drums
  • Arthur Godfrey – spoken introduction, ukulele

Track listing:

  1. The Place and the Time – Jerry Miller and Don Stevenson
  2. Murder in My Heart for the Judge – Jerry Miller and Don Stevenson
  3. Bitter Wind – Bob Mosley
  4. Can’t Be So Bad – Jerry Mille and Don Stevenson
  5. Just LikeGene Autry: A Foxtrot – Skip Spen
  6. He – Peter Lewis
  7. Motorcycle Irene – Skip Spence
  8. Three-Four – Jerry Miller and Skip Spence
  9. Funky-Tunk – Skip Spence
  10. Rose Colored Eyes – Bob Mosley
  11. Miller’s Blues – Jerry Miller
  12. Naked, If I Want To – Jerry Miller


On December 11, 1968.

Blood Sweat & Tears Second album

On December 11, 1968, “Columbia” label released self titled second Blood, Sweet & Tears album. It was recorded October 1968, at “CBS Studios” in New York,  and was produced by James William Guercio. The album was huge commercial success with over four million copies sold only in the US, and has been certified 4 x Platinum by the RIAA. The album received “Grammy Award” for “Album of the Year” in 1970.


  • David Clayton-Thomas– lead vocals
  • Lew Soloff– trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Bobby Colomby– drums, percussion, vocals
  • Jim Fielder– bass
  • Dick Halligan– organ, piano, flute, trombone, vocals
  • Steve Katz– guitar, harmonica, vocals, lead vocals
  • Fred Lipsius– alto saxophone, piano
  • Chuck Winfield– trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Jerry Hyman– trombone, recorder
  • Arrangers: Dick Halligan, Fred Lipsius, Al Kooper
  • Cover art:Timothy Quay, Bob Cato
  • Photography: Harrie George
  • Design:John Berg

Track listing:

  1. Variations on a theme by Erik Satie (1st and 2nd Movements)
  2. Adapted from “Trois Gymnopédies”; arr. by Dick Halligan
  3. Smiling Phases –  Steve Winwood, Jim Capaldi, Chris Wood
  4. Sometimes in Winter – Steve Katz
  5. More and More – Vee Pee Smith, Don Juan
  6. And When I Die – Laura Nyro
  7. God Bless the Child – Billie Holiday, Arthur Herzog Jr.
  8. Spinning Wheel -David Clayton-Thomas
  9. You’ve Made Me So Very Happy – Berry Gordy Jr., Brenda Holloway, Patrice Holloway, Frank Wilson
  10. Blues – Part II – Blood, Sweat & Tears
  11. Interpolating Sunshine of Your Love (Jack Bruce, Pete Brown,  Eric Clapton), Spoonful – Willie Dixon, Somethin’ Goin’ On – Al Kooper
  12. Variations on a theme by Erik Satie” (1st Movement)