Nina Simone: Little Girl Blue

In February 1959, “Bethlehem Records” label released “Little Girl Blue”, the debut Nina Simone album. It was recorded in December 1957, in New York City.


  • Nina Simone– vocals, piano, arrangements
  • Jimmy Bond– double bass
  • Albert “Tootie” Heath– drums
  • Joseph Muranyi– liner notes

Track listing:

  1. Mood Indigo – Duke Ellington, Barney Bigard, Irving Mills
  2. Don’t Smoke in Bed – Willard Robison
  3. He Needs Me – Arthur Hamilton
  4. Little Girl Blue – Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart
  5. Love Me or Leave Me – Walter Donaldson, Gus Kahn
  6. My Baby Just Cares for Me – Walter Donaldson, Gus Kahn
  7. Good Bait – Count Basie, Tadd Dameron
  8. Plain Gold Ring – George Stone (aka Earl Burroughs)
  9. You’ll Never Walk Alone – Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II
  10. I Loves You, Porgy – DuBose Heyward, George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin
  11. Central Park Blues – Nina Simone

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.