Tag Archives: Harold Land

In February 1957.

In February 1957, “RCA Victor” label released “Phineas’ Rainbow”, the second Phineas Newborn Jr. studio album. It was recorded in October 1956 in New York City.


  • Phineas Newborn Jr. – piano
  • Calvin Newborn – guitar
  • George Joyner – bass
  • Philly Joe Jones – drums
  • Bill Coss – liner notes

Track listing:

All tracks by Phineas Newborn Jr. except where noted.

  1. Overtime
  2. Angel Eyes – Earl Brent, Matt Dennis
  3. Come to Baby, Do! – Inez James, Sidney Miller
  4. Stairway to the Stars – Matty Malneck, Mitchell Parish, Frank Signorelli
  5. Land’s End – Harold Land
  6. Clarisse
  7. She (She Means Everything to Me) – George Shearing
  8. Tin Tin Deo – Gil Fuller, Dizzy Gillespie, Chano Pozo
  9. Autumn in New York – Vernon Duke
  10. What Is This Thing Called Love? – Cole Porter

In January 1955.

In February 1955, “EmArcy” label released “Dinah Jams”, the second Dinah Washington studio album. It was recorded in August 1954, and was produced by Bob Shad.


  • Dinah Washington – vocals
  • Clifford Brown – trumpet
  • Maynard Ferguson – trumpet
  • Clark Terry – trumpet
  • Herb Geller – alto saxophone
  • Harold Land – tenor saxophone
  • Richie Powell – piano
  • Junior Mance – piano
  • George Morrow – double bass
  • Keter Betts – double bass
  • Max Roach – drums

Track listing:

  1. Lover, Come Back to Me – Oscar Hammerstein II, Sigmund Romberg
  2. Alone Together – Arthur Schwartz
  3. Summertime – George Gershwin
  4. Come Rain or Come Shine – Harold Arlen, Johnny Mercer
  5. No More – Tutti Camarata, Bob Russell
  6. I’ve Got You Under My Skin – Cole Porter
  7. There Is No Greater Love – Isham Jones, Marty Symes
  8. You Go to My Head – John Frederick, Havem Gillespie

On March 27, 2001.

On March 27, 2001, “Audiophonic” label released “Promised Land”, the 15th and the final Harold Land album. It was recorded in August 2000, at “David Phillips Sound Studio” in La Jolla, CA, and was produced by Daniel I. Atkinson.


  • Harold Land – tenor saxophone
  • Ray Drummond – bass
  • Billy Higgins – drums
  • Mulgrew Miller – piano

Track listing:

  1. Inner Voice – Harold Land
  2. Ugly Beauty – Thelonious Monk
  3. What’s New? – Bob Haggart, Harold Land
  4. Dark Mood – Harold Land
  5. Like Someone in Love – Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Burke
  6. Mapenzi – Harold Land

In February 1969.

In February 1969, “Blue Note” label released “Total Eclipse”, the eight Bobby Hutcherson album. It was recorded in July 1968, at “Plaza Sound Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Duke Pearson and Francis Wolff.


  • Bobby Hutcherson – vibraphone
  • Harold Land – tenor saxophone, flute
  • Chick Corea – piano
  • Reggie Johnson – bass
  • Joe Chambers – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Hutcherson except where noted.

  1. Herzog
  2. Total Eclipse
  3. Matrix – Chick Corea
  4. Same Shame
  5. Pompeian

On February 3, 2018.

On February 3, 2018, Leon “Ndugu” Chancler died aged 65. He was musician (drums, percussion), composer, music producer and university professor. He recorded and performed with numerous famous artists including Mile Davis, Freddie Hubbard, Bobby Hutcherson,  Eddie Harris, Patti LaBelle, John Lee Hooker, Donna Summer, George Benson, Robbie Robertson, Syreeta Wright, Hampton Hawes, Kenny Rogers, LeAnn Rimes, George Duke, Sheena Easton, Peabo Bryson, Joe Henderson, Lionel Richie, Cheryl Lynn, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Tina Turner, Patrice Rushen, Jennifer Holliday, Harold Land, Minnie Riperton, Azar Lawrence, Santana, Lalo Schifrin, Julian Priester, Thelonious Monk and Herbie Hancock.

In December 1965.

In December 1965, “Pacific Jazz” label released “Feelin’ Kinda Blues”, the fourth Gerald Wilson (Gerald Wilson Orchestra) album. It was recorded November – December 1965, at “United Recorders” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Richard Bock.


  • Gerald Wilson – arranger, conductor
  • Bobby Bryant, Jules Chaikin, Freddie Hill, Nat Meeks, Melvin Moore, Al Porcino – trumpet
  • Bob Edmondson, John Ewing, Lester Robertson – trombone
  • Fred Murell – bass trombone
  • Curtis Amy – soprano saxophone
  • Anthony Ortega – alto saxophone, flute, piccolo
  • Teddy Edwards, Harold Land – tenor saxophone
  • Jack Nimitz – baritone saxophone
  • Phil Moore III – piano
  • Don Randi – organ
  • Dennis Budimir – guitar
  • Buddy Woodson – bass
  • Victor Feldman – vibraphone
  • Mel Lee – drums
  • Modesto Duran, Bones Howe, Adolfo Valdes – percussion

Track listing:

  1. When I’m Feeling Kinda Blue – Gerald Wilson
  2. Freddie Freeloader – Miles Davis
  3. Do Anything You Wanna – Harold Betters, Carl Ramsey
  4. Yesterday – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  5. Watermelon Man – Herbie Hancock
  6. Yeh Yeh – Rodgers Grant, Pat Patrick, Jon Hendricks
  7. One On the House – Harry James, Ernie Wilkins
  8. I Got You (I Feel Good) – James Brown
  9. I Concentrate on You – Cole Porter
  10. Well Son Shuffle – Mike Barone

On December 17, 2020.

On December 17, 2020, Stanley Cowell died aged 79. He was musician (piano), co-founder of the “Strata-East Records” label, and professor at the “Music Department of the Mason Gross School of the Arts at Rutgers”, the “State University of New Jersey”. He recorded with many famous jazz musicians including Gary Bartz, Larry Coryell, Richard Davis, Sonny Fortune, Roy Haynes, Jimmy Heath, The Heath Brothers, Stan Getz, Johnny Griffin, Bobby Hutcherson, J. J. Johnson, Clifford Jordan, Oliver Nelson, Jimmy Owens, Art Pepper, Buddy Terry, Charles Sullivan, Charles Toliver, Roland Kirk, Marion Brown, Harold Land, and Max Roach. As leader Cowell released 34 albums.

In December 1954.

In December 1954, “EmArcy” label released “Clifford Brown & Max Roach”, album by Clifford Brown and Max Roach. It was recorded in August 1954, in “Capitol Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Bob Shad, and has been released as 10” vinyl. In “Jazz: A Critic’s Guide to the 100 Most Important Recordings”, the album is placed at #34.


  • Clifford Brown – trumpet
  • Max Roach – drums
  • Harold Land – tenor saxophone
  • George Morrow – bass
  • Richie Powell – piano

Track listing:

 All tracks by Clifford Brown, except where noted.

  1. Delilah – Victor Young
  2. Parisian Thoroughfare – Bud Powell
  3. Daahoud
  4. Joy Spring
  5. Jordu – Duke Jordan

On April 11, 2000.

On April 11, 2000, “High Note” label released “New High”, the 48th Larry Coryell album. It was recorded in September 1999, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Don Sickler.


  • Larry Coryell– guitar
  • Shunzo Ono – trumpet
  • Ronnie Mathews– piano
  • Mark Sherman– vibraphone
  • Buster Williams– bass
  • Yoron Israel– drums

Tracks listing:

All tracks by Larry Coryell except where noted

  1. Bags’ Groove – Milt Jackson
  2. Like Sonny – John Coltrane
  3. Funereal
  4. Ursula – Harold Land
  5. John Charles – Ronnie Mathews
  6. Spiral Staircase – Mark Sherman
  7. Old Folks – Willard Robison, Dedette Lee Hill
  8. New High