Tag Archives: Waddy Watchel

On September 1, 1978.

On September 1, 1978, “EG” label released “The Bride Stripped Bare”, the fifth Bryan Ferry solo album. It was recorded in 1977, at “Mountain Studios” in Montreux, Switzerland, and was produced by Waddy Watchel, Rick Marotta, Simon Puxley, Steve Nye and Bryan Ferry.


  • Bryan Ferry- lead vocals, piano, keyboards
  • Waddy Wachtel- lead guitar, slide guitar, backing vocals
  • Neil Hubbard- Guitar
  • Preston Heyman, Rick Marotta- drums
  • John Wetton- bass guitar
  • Herbie Flowers- string bass
  • Alan Spenner- Bass guitar
  • Ann Odell – organ, electric piano, string arrangements
  • Suzanne Ciani- synthesizers
  • Steve Nye- electric piano
  • Mel Collins- saxophone
  • Martin Drover – trumpet
  • Jimmy Douglass, Lew Hahn, Steve Nye – engineers
  • Dave Richards, Martin Pearson, Randy Mason – assistant engineers
  • Antony Price – design
  • John Swannell– photography
  • Ahmet Ertegün- counsel

Track listing:

  1. Sign of Times – Bryan Ferry
  2. Can’t Let Go – Bryan Ferry
  3. Hold On (I’m Coming) – Isaac Hayes, David Porter
  4. The Same Old Blues – J. Cale
  5. When She Walks in the Room – Bryan Ferry
  6. Take Me to the River – Al Green, Mabon “Teenie” Hodges
  7. What Goes On – Lou Reed
  8. Carrickfergus – traditional, arranged by Bryan Ferry
  9. That’s How Strong My Love Is – Roosevelt Jamison
  10. This Island Earth – Bryan Ferry

On October 3, 1988.


On October 3, 1988, “Virgin” label released “Talk Is Cheap” the debut Keith Richards solo album. It was recorded August 1987 – May 1988, and was produced by Keith Richards, Steve Jordan.


  • Keith Richards– lead vocals, guitar
  • Steve Jordan– drums, percussion, bass’, backing vocals
  • Sarah Dash– backing vocals, duet
  • Charley Drayton– bass guitar, drums
  • Ivan Neville– piano, keyboards
  • Bobby Keys– tenor saxophone
  • Waddy Wachtel– acoustic, electric, and slide guitar, production consultant
  • Bootsy Collins– bass guitar
  • Michael Doucet– violin
  • Stanley “Buckwheat” Dural –accordion
  • Johnnie Johnson– piano
  • Chuck Leavell– organ
  • Maceo Parker– alto saxophone
  • Joey Spampinato– bass guitar
  • Mick Taylor– guitar
  • Bernie Worrell– organ, clavinet
  • Jimmi Kinnard – bass guitar
  • Patti Scialfa– backing vocals
  • The Memphis Horns– horns
  • Willie Mitchell– horn arrangements
  • Engineers: Robert Berry, Joe Blaney, David Dorn ,Richard Ealey, Joe Ferla, David Kennedy, Paul Milner, Julio Pena (also assistant engineer), Don Smith, Roger Talkov
  • Mixing: Joe Blaney, Don Smith
  • Mastering: Greg Calbi

Track listing:

All tracks by Keith Richards and Steve Jordan.

  1. Big Enough
  2. Take It So Hard
  3. Struggle
  4. I Could Have Stood You Up
  5. Make No Mistake
  6. You Don’t Move Me
  7. How I Wish
  8. Rockawhile
  9. Whip It Up
  10. Locked Away
  11. It Means a Lot

On January 18, 1978.


On January 18, 1978, “Asylum” label released “Excitable Boy”, the third Warren Zevon studio album. It was recorded in 1977, at “The Sound Factory” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Jackson Browne and Waddy Wachtel. “Excitable Boy” is the best-selling album of Zevon’s career.


  • Warren Zevon – lead, harmony and backing vocals, piano, organ, synthesizer
  • Jorge Calderón– harmony and backing vocals, Spanish vocals
  • Danny “Kootch” Kortchmar- guitar, percussion
  • Russ Kunkel– drum
  • Jackson Browne– guitar, harmony and backing vocals
  • Luis Damian – jarana
  • Kenny Edwards, John McVie- bass
  • Mick Fleetwood– drums
  • The Gentlemen Boys (Jackson Browne, Jorge Calderón, Kenny Edwards, J. D. Souther, Waddy Wachtel) – backing and harmony vocals
  • Arthur Gerst – Mexican harp
  • Bob Glaub, Leland Sklar– bass
  • Jim Horn– recorder
  • Greg Ladanyi– bells
  • Rick Marotta– drums
  • Jeff Porcaro– drums, percussion
  • Linda Ronstadt, Karla Bonoff– backing and harmony vocals
  • Manuel Vasquez – requinto
  • Waddy Wachtel– guitar, synthesizer, harmony and backing vocals
  • Jennifer Warnes– harmony vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Warren Zevon, except as noted.

  1. Johnny Strikes Up the Band
  2. Roland the Headless Thompson Gunner – David Lindell, Warren Zevon
  3. Excitable Boy – LeRoy Marinell, Warren Zevon
  4. Werewolves of London – LeRoy Marinell, Waddy Wachtel, Warren Zevon
  5. Accidentally Like a Martyr
  6. Nighttime in the Switching Yard – Jorge Calderón, Lindell, Wachtel, Warren Zevon
  7. Veracruz – Jorge Calderón, Warren Zevon
  8. Tenderness on the Block – Jackson Browne, Warren Zevon
  9. Lawyers, Guns and Money