Tag Archives: Tommy Shaw

On June 16, 2017.

On June 16, 2017, “UMe” label released “The Mission”, the sixteenth Styx studio album. It was recorded 2015 – 2017, at “Blackbird Studios”, “The Shop”, “6 Studio Amontillado” in Nashville, Tennessee, and was produced by Will Evankovich.


  • Tommy Shaw– vocals, acoustic and electric guitars, mandolin
  • James Young– vocals, electric guitars
  • Chuck Panozzo– bass guitar
  • Todd Sucherman– drums, percussion, waterphone
  • Lawrence Gowan– vocals, piano, Hammond B3 organ, synthesizers
  • Ricky Phillips– bass guitar
  • Will Evankovich– additional synthesizers, guitars, sound effects
  • Will Evankovich, Alan Hertz, Sean Badum – engineering
  • JR Taylor – additional engineering
  • Jim Scott – mixing
  • Kevin Dean – assistant mixing engineer
  • Derek Sharp – additional editing
  • Richard Dudd – mastering
  • Todd Gallopo – cover illustration, art direction, design
  • Jason Powell – band photography

Track listing:

  1. Overture – Tommy Shaw
  2. Gone Gone Gone – Will Evankovich, Tommy Shaw, James Young
  3. Hundred Million Miles from Home – Will Evankovich, Tommy Shaw
  4. Trouble at the Big Show – Will Evankovich, Tommy Shaw, James Young
  5. Locomotive – Will Evankovich, Tommy Shaw
  6. Radio Silence – Will Evankovich, Lawrence Gowan, Tommy Shaw
  7. The Greater Good – Will Evankovich, Lawrence Gowan, Tommy Shaw
  8. Time May Bend – Will Evankovich, Tommy Shaw
  9. Ten Thousand Ways – Lawrence Gowan, Tommy Shaw
  10. Red Storm – Will Evankovich, Tommy Shaw
  11. All Systems Stable – Will Evankovich, Lawrence Gowan, Tommy Shaw, Todd Sucherman
  12. Khedive – Lawrence Gowan, Tommy Shaw
  13. The Outpost – Will Evankovich, Lawrence Gowan, Tommy Shaw
  14. Mission to Mars – Tommy Shaw

On April 27, 1993.

On April 27, 1993, “Warner Bros” label released “Exposed”, the debut Vince Neil solo album. It was recorded in 1992, at “Record Plant” in Hollywood, “Rumbo Recorders” in Canoga Park, California, and was produced by Ron Nevison.


  • Vince Neil– lead and backing vocals
  • Steve Stevens– guitars, bass guitar
  • Vik Foxx – drums, percussion
  • Dave Marshall– rhythm guitar
  • Robbie Crane– bass guitar
  • Robbie Buchanan– keyboards
  • Tommy Funderburk, Timothy B. Schmit, Donna McDaniel, Christina Nichols – backing vocals
  • Ron Nevison– engineer
  • Craig Brock, Andy Udoff, Ben Wallach – assistant engineers
  • Chris Lord-Alge- mixing

Track listing:

  1. Look in Her Eyes – Vince Neil, Steve Stevens, Phil Soussan
  2. Sister of Pain – Vince Neil, Jack Blades, Tommy Shaw
  3. Can’t Have Your Cake – Vince Neil, Steve Stevens
  4. Fine, Fine Wine – Vince Neil, Phil Soussan
  5. The Edge – Vince Neil, Steve Stevens, Phil Soussan
  6. Can’t Change Me – Jack Blades, Tommy Shaw
  7. Set Me Free – Andrew Scott
  8. Living Is a Luxury – Vince Neil, Steve Stevens
  9. You’re Invited (But Your Friend Can’t Come) – Vince Neil, Jack Blades, Tommy Shaw
  10. Gettin’ Hard – Vince Neil, Steve Stevens, Phil Soussan
  11. Forever – Vince Neil, Steve Stevens, Phil Soussan

On July 7, 1977.

Styx-The Grand Illusion

On July 7, 1977, “A&M” released “The Grand Illusion”, the seventh Styx studio album. It was recorded in 1977, at “Paragon Recording Studios” in Chicago, and was produced by Styx. The album cover was an homage to a painting by René Magritte “Le Blanc-Seing”, and was designed by Alton Kelley and Stanley Mouse. The album was certified 3 x Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”.


  • Dennis DeYoung– keyboards, synthesizers, vocals
  • James Young– guitar, keyboards, vocals
  • Barry Mraz -production assistance, engineer
  • Chuck Panozzo– bass guitar
  • John Panozzo– drums
  • Tommy Shaw– acoustic and electric guitars, vocals
  • Rob Kingsland – engineer
  • Masteredby Mike Reese
  • Roland Young -art direction
  • Jim McCrary- photography
  • Chuck Beeson -album design

Track listing:

  1. The Grand Illusion – Dennis DeYoung
  2. Fooling Yourself (The Angry Young Man) – Tommy Shaw
  3. Superstars – James Young, Dennis DeYoung, Tommy Shaw
  4. Come Sail Away – Dennis DeYoung
  5. Miss America – James Young
  6. Man in the Wilderness – Tommy Shaw
  7. Castle Walls – Dennis DeYoung
  8. The Grand Finale – Dennis DeYoung, James Young, Tommy Shaw

January 19, 1981.


On January 19, 1981, “A&M” label released “Paradise Theatre”, the tenth Styx album.  It was recorded in 1980 at “Pumpkin Studios” in Oak Lawn, Illinois, and was produced by Dennis Young, Chuck Panozzo, John Panozzo, Tommy Shaw and James Young. The album is the only Styx US #1 album, band’s fourth triple-platinum album and the last multi-platinum album.


  • Dennis DeYoung– keyboards, vocals
  • Chuck Panozzo– bass
  • John Panozzo– drums, percussion
  • Tommy Shaw– guitars, vocals, vocoder
  • James Young– guitar, vocals
  • Dan Barber – horn
  • Steve Eisen -saxophone
  • Mike Halpin – horn
  • John Haynor – horn
  • Mark Ohlson – horn
  • Billy Simpson – horn

Track listing:

  1. D. 1928 – Dennis DeYoung
  2. Rockin’ the Paradise – Dennis DeYoung,James Young, Tommy Shaw
  3. Too Much Time on My Hands – Tommy Shaw
  4. Nothing Ever Goes as Planned – Dennis DeYoung
  5. The Best of Times – Dennis DeYoung
  6. Lonely People – Dennis DeYoung
  7. She Cares – Tommy Shaw
  8. Snowblind – James Young, Dennis DeYoung
  9. Half-Penny, Two-Penny – James Young, Ray Brandle
  10. D. 1958 – Dennis DeYoung
  11. State Street Sadie – Dennis DeYoung