Tag Archives: The Bottom Line

Grotus: Mass

On March 19, 1996, “London” label released “Mass”, the third and final Grotus album. It was recorded in 1995, at “Decibel Worship” in San Francisco, and was produced by Chris Arvan.


  • Lars Fox – vocals, drums, sampling
  • Adam Tanner – Fender bass, string bass, guitar, sampling, electronics
  • John Carson – bass, sampler, electronics, synthesizer
  • Bruce Boyd – drums, turntables
  • Chris Arvan – engineer

Track listing:

  1. That’s Entertainment
  2. A Bad Itch
  3. White Trash Blues
  4. Ebola Reston
  5. Hand to Mouth
  6. T’Ain’t Nobody’s Bizness If I Do
  7. Sick
  8. Collect ‘Em All
  9. Wild Bill
  10. The Bottom Line
  11. Back in the Day

Kazumi Watanabe: One for All

On June 16, 1999, “Polydor Japan” released “One for All”, the 28th Kazumi Watanabe album. It was recorded in March 1999, at “The Bottom Line” in New York City, and was produced by Koko Tanikawa and Kazumi Watanabe.


  • Kazumi Watanabe – guitars, arranger
  • Larry Coryell – guitar
  • Akiko Yano – piano, arranger
  • Mike Mainieri – vibraphone, arranger
  • John Patitucci – bass
  • Mino Cinelu – drums
  • Koko Tanikawa – arranger
  • Doug Epstein – recording, mixing
  • Billy Eric, Tom Filogomo – engineer assistant
  • Greg Calbi – mastering
  • Yutaka Katayama – artwork director
  • Toshifumi Kusano – photography
  • Hiromi Saeki – coordination

Track listing:

  1. Havana – Koko Tanikawa
  2. Water Ways Flow Backward Again – Akiko Yano
  3. Libertango – Ástor Piazzolla
  4. Somewhere – Leonard Bernstein
  5. Afro Blue – Mongo Santamaria
  6. One for All – Kazumi Watanabe
  7. Milestones – Miles Davis

On January 26, 1988.

On January 26, 1988, “Warner Bros” label released “Skyscraper”, the second David Lee Roth studio album. It was recorded in 1987, at “Capitol Studios” in Hollywood, “Stucco Blue Studios” in Sylmar, “Smoketree Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by David Lee Roth and Steve Vai.


  • David Lee Roth – vocals, concept, cover design
  • Steve Vai – guitar, horn, engineer
  • Billy Sheehan – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Gregg Bissonette – drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Brett Tuggle – keyboards, programming, backing vocals
  • Gary Falcone – backing vocals
  • Joe Pizzulo – backing vocals
  • Tommy Funderburk – backing vocals
  • Tom Kelly – backing vocals
  • John Batdorf – backing vocals
  • Magic Moreno – backing vocals
  • Dr. Funk, PhD – bass synthesizer
  • Todd Grace, Richie Raposa – programming, keyboard programming
  • Magic Moreno – engineer, mixing
  • Gary Wagner – engineer
  • Doug Parry – engineer
  • Paul Levy – engineer
  • Steve Holroyd – engineer
  • Marnie Riley – engineer
  • Stephen Shelton – engineer
  • Bob Cats – mixing
  • Bernie Grundman – mastering
  • Pete Angelus – concept, cover design
  • Vigon Seireeni – artwork
  • Gina Vivona – artwork
  • Galen Rowell – photography
  • Eddie Anderson – personal assistant

Track listing:

All tracks by David Lee Roth and Steve Vai, except where noted.

  1. Knucklebones – Gregg Bissonette, Matt Bissonette, David Lee Roth
  2. Just Like Paradise – David Lee Roth, Brett Tuggle
  3. The Bottom Line
  4. Skyscraper
  5. Damn Good
  6. \Hot Dog and a Shake
  7. Stand Up – David Lee Roth, Brett Tuggle
  8. Hina
  9. Perfect Timing – David Lee Roth, Brett Tuggle
  10. Two Fools a Minute

On July 8, 2003.

On July 8, 2003, “InsideOut Music” label released “Feel Euphoria”, the seventh Spock’s Beard studio album. It was recorded in 2003 and was produced by Nick D’Virgilio, Alan Morse, Ryo Okumoto, and Dave Meros.


  • Nick D’Virgilio– lead vocals, acoustic and electric guitars, drums, percussion, loops, arranger
  • Alan Morse– vocals, electric and acoustic guitars, arranger
  • Ryo Okumoto– keyboards, arranger
  • Dave Meros– basses, arranger
  • John Boegehold – synths, “backward stuff”
  • Gina Ballina – French horn
  • Claire Pasquale – trumpet, piccolo trumpet
  • Steve Velez – cello
  • J’Anna Jacoby – violin
  • Richard Mouser – recording, engineering, mixing
  • Jay Frigoletto – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Nick D’Virgilio, except where noted.

  1. Onomatopoeia – Nick D’Virgilio, Alan Morse, John Boegehold
  2. The Bottom Line – Nick D’Virgilio, Stan Ausmus
  3. Feel Euphoria – Nick D’Virgilio, Ryo Okumoto
  4. Shining Star
  5. East of Eden, West of Memphis – Alan Morse, John Boegehold
  6. Ghost of Autumn – Dave Mergos, John Boegehold
  7. A Guy Named Sid, Pt. 1” Intro
  8. A Guy Named Sid, Pt. 2 Same Old Story
  9. A Guy Named Sid, Pt. 3 You Don’t Know
  10. A Guy Named Sid, Pt. 4 Judge
  11. A Guy Named Sid, Pt. 5 Sid’s Boys Choir
  12. A Guy Named Sid, Pt. 6 Change
  13. Carry On

On February 12, 1974.

Bottom Line Club

On February 12, 1974, “The Bottom Line” club opened in New York City. Owned by Allan Pepper and Stanley Snadowsky, during the 70’s and 80’s, the club was a major space for small-scale music performances. The club stoped working in 2004. Some of the artists who performed in the club were Miles Davis, Gato Barbieri, Bill Evans, Charles Mingus, Mose Allison, Muddy Waters, Mike Bloomfield, Paul Butterfield, Ray Barretto, Peter Gabriel, Al Kooper, Tom Waits, Melvin Van Peebles, Neil Sedaka, Billy Joel, Suzi Quatro, Patti Smith, Flo & Eddie, Toots and the Maytals, Cheech & Chong, Tower of Power, Tim Hardin, Roger McGuinn, JJ Cale, The Meters, Greg Kihn Band, Ry Cooder,Southside Johnny & The Asbury Jukes, Sam & Dave, Asım Can Gündüz, The Ronettes, John Cale, Gong, Peter Bardens, The Violent Femmes, Eric Clapton, Carl Perkins, Linda Ronstadt,The Police, Richard Marx, Prince, Daryl Hall & John Oates, Van Morrison, The Stone Poneys, Chuck Mangione, Emmylou Harris, Clinn Rippy, Neil Young, Barry Manilow, Laura Nyro, Loudon Wainwright III, New York Dolls, Lyle Lovett, The Electric Flag, Pat Martino, Todd Rundgren, Graham Parker, Grayson Hugh, Stan Ridgway, Horslips, Dire Straits,Chris Hillman, Hawkwind, Dolly Parton, George Jones, Tracy Nelson, The Pointer Sisters, Betty Carter, Ravi Shankar, Ramones and Michael Hedges.