Tag Archives: Nick Gravenites

In December 1969.

In December 1969, “Capitol” label released “Shady Grove”, the second Quicksilver Messenger Service studio album. It was recorded July – September 199, at “Wally Heider Studios” and “Pacific High Recorders” in San Francisco, and was produced by John Palladino.


  • John Cipollina– vocals, guitar
  • Nicky Hopkins– piano, organ, celeste, harpsichord, cello
  • David Freiberg– vocals, bass, guitar, viola
  • Greg Elmore– drums, percussion
  • Dan Healy, Bob Shumaker, Dave Brown, Mike Leary – engineer
  • Dan Healy, Quicksilver Messenger Service, Snarly Grumble – mixing
  • John Palladino – executive producer

Track listing:

  1. Shady Grove – O. Wands
  2. Flute Song – Denise Jewkes
  3. Three or Four Feet from Home – John Cipollina
  4. Too Far – David Freiberg
  5. Holy Moly – Nick Gravenites
  6. Joseph’s Coat – John Cipollina, Nick Gravenites
  7. Flashing Lonesome – David Freiberg, Denise Jewkes
  8. Words Can’t Say – David Freiberg, Denise Jewkes
  9. Edward, the Mad Shirt Grinder – Nicky Hopkins

In October 1970.

In October 1970, “Columbia” label released “Be a Brother”, the third Big Brother and the Holding Company studio album, the first one after Janis Joplin’s departure. It was recorded in 1970, and was produced by Nick Gravenites.


  • Nick Gravenites- lead and backing vocals
  • Sam Andrew- guitar, lead and backing vocals
  • David Schallock – guitar, backing vocals
  • Peter Albin – guitar
  • James Gurley- bass, guitar
  • David Getz – drums, piano

Track listing:

  1. Keep On – Sam Andrew, Peter Albin, David Getz, James Gurley, David Schallock
  2. Joseph’s Coat – Nick Gravenites, John Cipollina
  3. Home on the Strange – Peter Albin, Sam Andrew
  4. Someday – Sam Andrew
  5. Heartache People – Nick Gravenites
  6. Sunshine Baby – Sam Andrew, Peter Albin, David Getz, James Gurley, David Shallock
  7. Natural – Sam Andrew
  8. Funkie Jim – Sam Andrew, Peter Albin, David Getz, James Gurley, David Shallock, Nick Gravenites
  9. I’ll Change Your Flat Tire, Merle – Nick Gravenites
  10. Be a Brother – Nick Gravenites

In October 1965.

In October 1965, “Elektra” label released “The Paul Butterfield Blues Band”, the debut Paul Butterfield album. It was recorded in September 1965, and was produced by Paul Rothchild and Mark Abramson. In 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 468 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. “Down Beat” magazine ranked it at number 11 on its list of the “Top 50 Blues Albums”.


  • Paul Butterfield– lead vocals, harmonica
  • Mike Bloomfield– guitars
  • Elvin Bishop– guitars
  • Mark Naftalin– organ
  • Jerome Arnold– bass
  • Sam Lay– drums, lead vocals

Track listing:

  1. Born in Chicago – Nick Gravenites
  2. Shake Your Money-Maker – Elmore James
  3. Blues with a Feeling – Walter Jacobs
  4. Thank You Mr. Poobah – Mike Bloomfield, Paul Butterfield, Mark Naftalin
  5. Mellow Down Easy – Willie Dixon
  6. Screamin – Mike Bloomfield
  7. Our Love Is Drifting – Paul Butterfield, Elvin Bishop
  8. Mystery Train – Junior Parker, Sam Phillips
  9. Last Night – Walter Jacobs
  10. Look Over Yonders Wall – James Clark


In May 1968.

In May 1968, “Capitol” label released the debut, self-titled Quicksilver Messenger Service studio album. It was recorded in 1968, and was produced by Nick Gravenites, Harvey Brooks and Pete Welding.el:


  • John Cipollina- lead uitar
  • Gary Duncan- guitar, vocals
  • David Freiberg- bass guitar, vocals, viola
  • Greg Elmore- drums

Track listing:

  1. Pride of Man – Hamilton Camp
  2. Light Your Windows – Gary Duncan,David Freiberg
  3. Dino’s Song– Dino Valenti
  4. Gold and Silver – Gary Duncan, Steve Schuster
  5. It’s Been Too Long – Ron Polte
  6. The Fool” – Gary Duncan, David Freiberg



In March 1968.


In March 1968, “Columbia” label released “A Long Time Comin’”, the debut Electric Flag album. It was recorded June 1967 – January 1968, and was produced by John Court and Joe Church.


  • Mike Bloomfield– lead guitar, vocals
  • Buddy Miles– drums, vocals
  • Barry Goldberg– keyboards
  • Harvey Brooks– bass
  • Nick Gravenites– vocals, guitar
  • Herb Rich –organ, vocals, baritone saxophone, guitar
  • Michael Fonfara– keyboards
  • Marcus Doubleday –trumpet
  • Peter Strazza –tenor saxophone
  • Stemsy Hunter– alto saxophone
  • Richie Havens– percussion, sitar
  • Sivuca– guitar, percussion
  • Paul Beaver– keyboards, Moog synthesizer
  • Leo Daruczek – strings
  • Charles McCracken – strings
  • Bobby Notkoff– strings
  • Julius Held – strings
  • Roy Segal – engineer
  • Jim Marshall– cover photo
  • Joe Church – percussion, producer
  • John Court – percussion, vocals, producer
  • Cass Elliot- vocal

Track listing:

  1. Killing Floor – Chester “Howlin’ Wolf” Burnett
  2. Groovin’ Is Easy – Nick Gravenites
  3. Over-Lovin’ You – Mike Bloomfield,Barry Goldberg
  4. She Should Have Just – Ron Polte
  5. Wine – Traditional
  6. Texas – Mike Bloomfield,Buddy Miles
  7. Sittin’ in Circles – Barry Goldberg
  8. You Don’t Realize – Mike Bloomfield
  9. Another Country – Ron Polte
  10. Easy Rider – Mike Bloomfield



On May 4, 1987.


On May 4, 1987, Paul Vaughn Butterfield died aged 45. Being vocalist and harmonica player he performed with Nick Gravenites and Elvin Bishop, but he is best known as the frontman of The Paul Butterfield Blues Band. He gained international recognition after performing during the “Summer of Love” at “The Monterey Festival” and “Woodstock Festival”. In 2006, he was inducted into the “Blues Hall of Fame” and in 2015, The Paul Butterfield Blues Band was inducted in the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame”.