Tag Archives: Tommy Talton

In November 1972.

In November 1972, “Capricorn” label released “Liv”, the second Livingston Taylor studio album. It was recorded in 1971, and was produced by Jon Landau.


  • Livingston Taylor — acoustic guitar, guitar, piano, keyboards, vocals
  • Greg Prestopino — vocals, backing vocals
  • Robert Popwell— bass, guitar
  • Walter Robinson — bass, acoustic bass
  • Johnny Sandlin — bass, guitar
  • Bill Stewart — drums
  • Tommy Talton — acoustic guitar, guitar
  • David Woodford — flute, tenor saxophone, wind
  • George Marino- mastering engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Livingston Taylor; except where noted.

  1. Get Out of Bed
  2. May I Stay Around
  3. Open Up Your Eyes
  4. Gentleman
  5. Easy Prey
  6. Be That Way
  7. Truck Driving Man
  8. Mom, Dad
  9. On Broadway – Barry Mann, Cynthia Weil, Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller
  10. Caroline
  11. I Just Can’t Be Lonesome No More

In October 1973.

In October 1973, “Capricorn” label released “Laid Back”, the debut Gregg Allman solo studio album. It was recorded in 1973, at “Record Plant” in New York City, and “Capricorn Sound Studios” in Macon, Georgia, and was produced by Johnny Sandlin and Gregg Allman.


  • Gregg Allman – vocals, organ, acoustic guitar
  • Bill Stewart – drums
  • Chuck Leavell– acoustic and electric pianos, vibes
  • Tommy Talton – acoustic, electric and slide guitars, dobro and tambourine
  • Scott Boyer – acoustic, electric and steel guitars, electric piano
  • David Brown – bass
  • Buzz Feiten– guitar
  • Charlie Hayward– bass
  • Paul Hornsby– organ, keyboards, clavinet
  • Jai Johanny Johanson– percussion, conga
  • Carl Hall, Linda November, Hilda Harris, Cissy Houston, Emily Houston, June McGruder, Helene Miles, Eileen Gilbert, Maretha Stewart, Albertine Robinson – background vocals
  • Jim Nalls – guitar
  • David “Fathead” Newman– saxophone
  • Johnny Sandlin – bass
  • Butch Trucks– percussion, cabasa
  • Ed Freeman – strings and horn arrangements, conductor
  • Max Cahn, Tony Posk – violin
  • Johnny Sandlin – arranger, engineer
  • Ovie Sparks, Buddy Thornton, Jim Reeves – engineer
  • George Marino– engineer, mastering
  • Abdul Mati Klarwein– album cover art

Track listing:

All tracks by Gregg Allman; except where noted.

  1. Midnight Rider – Gregg Allman, Robert Kim Payne
  2. Queen of Hearts
  3. Please Call Home
  4. Don’t Mess Up a Good Thing – Oliver Sain
  5. These Days – Jackson Browne
  6. Multi-Colored Lady
  7. All My Friends – Scott Boyer
  8. Will the Circle Be Unbroken – traditional; arranged by Gregg Allman and Johnny Sandlin

In August 1973.

In August 1973, “Capricorn” label released “Brothers and Sisters”, the fourth Allman Brothers Band album. It was recorded October–December 1972, at “Capricorn Sound Studios”, and was produced by Johnny Sandlin, Gregg Allman, Dickey Betts, Berry Oakley, Jai Johanny Johanson, Butch Trucks, Chuck Leavell and Lamar Williams.


  • Gregg Allman– vocals, organ, rhythm guitar, backing vocals
  • Dickey Betts– lead and slide guitar, vocals
  • Berry Oakley– bass guitar
  • Jai Johanny Johanson– drums, congas
  • Butch Trucks– drums, percussion, timpani, congas
  • Chuck Leavell– piano, backing vocals, electric piano
  • Lamar Williams – bass guitar
  • Les Dudek– co-lead and acoustic guitar
  • Tommy Talton – acoustic guitar
  • Johnny Sandlin, Ovie Sparks – engineer, remix
  • Buddy Thornton – engineer
  • George Marino– mastering engineer
  • Judi Reeve – graphic content
  • Dan Hudson, Jr, Bo Meriwether – photography
  • Barry Feinstein, Vicki Hodgett – layout, design 

    Track listing:

    1. Wasted Words – Gregg Allman
    2. Ramblin’ Man – Dickey Bets
    3. Come and Go Blues – Gregg Allman
    4. Jelly Jelly – Gregg Allman
    5. Southbound – Dickey Betts
    6. Jessica – Dickey Betts
    7. Pony Boy – Dickey Betts

In March 1971.

In March 1971, “Capricorn” label released “Alex Taylor with Friends and Neighbors”, the debut Alex Taylor album. It was recorded in 1971, at “Capricorn Studios” in Macon, Georgia, and was produced by Johnny Sandlin.


  • Alex Taylor- vocals
  • James Taylor- guitar
  • Scott Boyer- guitar, background vocals
  • Tommy Talton- guitar
  • Paul Hornsby- keyboards
  • Johnny Sandlin- bass
  • Peter Kowalke- guitar
  • Joe Rudd- guitar
  • Bill Stewart- drums
  • King Curtis- saxophone
  • Willie Bridges- saxophone
  • Ronnie Cuber- saxophone
  • Frank Wess- saxophone
  • Daniel Moore- trumpet
  • William S. Fischer- conductor, string arrangements
  • Recording Engineer: Lewis Hahn, Jim Hawkins
  • Art Direction: Jimmy Roberts
  • Photography: Mickey Dobo
  • Executive Supervisor: Frank Fenter

Track listing:

  1. Highway Song – James Taylor
  2. Southern Kids – Scott Boyer
  3. All in Line – Tommy Talton
  4. Night Owl – James Taylor
  5. C Song – Scott Boyer
  6. It’s All Over Now – Bobby Womack, Shirley Womack
  7. Baby Ruth – Johnny Wyker
  8. Take Out Some Insurance – Charles Singleton
  9. Southbound – Dickey Betts