Tag Archives: Who

On December 6, 2019.

On December 6, 2019, “Polydor” label released “Who”, the twelfth The Who studio album. It was recorded February – August 2019, at “British Grove” and “Metropolis Studios” in London, and was produced by Pete Townshend, Dave Sardy, Bob Pridden and Dave Eringa.


  • Roger Daltrey – lead vocals
  • Pete Townshend – lead and backing vocals, guitars, harmonicas, percussion, synthesizer tracks, violin, cello, hurdy-gurdy, effects, orchestration
  • Andrew Synowiec – acoustic guitar
  • Gordon Giltrap – acoustic guitar
  • Pino Palladino – bass
  • Gus Seyffert – bass
  • Zak Starkey – drums
  • Carla Azar – drums
  • Matt Chamberlain – drums
  • Joey Waronker – drums
  • Simon Townshend – percussion
  • Fergus Gerrand – percussion
  • Dave Sardy – percussion, mellotron, synthesizer programming
  • Benmont Tench – organ, mellotron
  • Josh Tyrrell – handclaps
  • Rowan McIntosh – handclaps
  • Martin Batchelar – programming, orchestration, orchestra arrangement, orchestra conducting
  • Rachel Fuller – orchestration
  • Peter Rotter – orchestra fixer
  • Bruce Dukov – orchestra leader
  • Peter Blake – art direction, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Pete Townshend, except where noted.

  1. All This Music Must Fade
  2. Ball and Chain
  3. I Don’t Wanna Get Wise
  4. Detour
  5. Beads on One String – Pete Townshend, Josh Hunsaker
  6. Hero Ground Zero
  7. Street Song
  8. I’ll Be Back
  9. Break the News – Simon Townshend
  10. Rockin’ in rage
  11. She Rocked My World

On May 28, 1996.

On May 28, 1996, “Bomp!” label released “Take It from the Man!”, the third Brian Jonestown Massacre studio album. November 1995 – February 1996, and was produced by Larry Thrasher.


  • Anton Newcombe– vocals, guitar, bass, organ, mellotron, drums
  • Matt Hollywood– vocals, bass, guitar
  • Dean Taylor, Jeff Davies, Mara Keagle – guitar
  • Brian Glaze– drums
  • Joel Gion– percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Anton Newcombe, Matt Hollywood, Dean Taylor, Jeff Davies, Mara Keagle, Brian Glaze and Joel Gion, except where noted.


  1. Vacuum Boots
  2. Who?
  3. Oh Lord
  4. Caress
  5. (David Bowie I Love You) Since I Was Six
  6. Straight Up and Down
  7. Monster – Anton Newcombe, Jeff Davies
  8. Take It from the Man
  9. S.A.
  10. Mary, Please
  11. Monkey Puzzle
  12. Fucker
  13. Dawn
  14. Cabin Fever
  15. In My Life
  16. The Be Song
  17. My Man Syd
  18. Straight Up and Down (long version)

On September 10, 2012.

On September 10, 2012, “4AD” label released “Love This Giant”, studio album by David Byrne and St. Vincent. It was recorded 2009 – 2012, at “Water Music Studio” in Hoboken, New Jersey, and “Patrick Dillett’s Studio” in New York City, and was produced by David Byrne, Annie Clark, John Congleton, and Patrick Dillett.


  • David Byrne- guitar,  vocals,  percussion programming; Omnichord
  • Vincent– guitar, vocals, production; synth bass; piano
  • Jacquelyn Adams, Eric Davis, Lawrence Di Bello, Rachel Drehmann, J. Kelly, Chris Komer – French horn
  • Randy Andos – tuba
  • Antibalas Afrobeat Orchestra
  • Stuart D. Bogie, Ron Blake, Martín Perna, Cochemea Gastelum , Jack Bashkow, Stan Harriison, Bob Magnuson, Ian Hendrickson-Smith, Steve Elson, Alex Foster, Patrick Milando, Jonathan Powell, Tom Timko – saxophone
  • Jordan McLean, Josh Frank, Earl Gardner, Mike Gurfield, Ravi Best, David Guy, Dominic Derasse, Gareth Flowers, Kelly Pratt– trumpet
  • Jeff Caswell – bass trombone
  • John Congleton– drum programming; synth
  • The Dap-Kings
  • Kenneth Finn, Tom Hutchinson– euphonium
  • Paul Frazier – bass guitar
  • William Lang, Aaron Johnson, Ryan Keberle, Brian Mahany, Ozzie Melendez, Mike Seltzer, Steve Turre, Michael Williams– trombone
  • Anthony LaMarca– drums
  • Lenny Pickett– saxophone, brass arrangement
  • Mauro Refosco– snare drum, timpani
  • Marcus Rojas, Kyle Turner, Bob Stewart– tuba
  • Evan Smith – clarinet, flute
  • Jon Altschuler – engineering
  • Greg Calbi– mastering
  • Patrick Dillett– mixing, drum programming
  • Tony Finno, Ken Thompson – brass arrangements
  • Yuki Takahashi – engineering
  • Gabe Bartalos – prosthetics
  • Richard Burbridge – cover photo
  • Catalina Kulczar, Juan Marin, LeeAnn Rossi – art
  • Steve Powers – type design
  • Noah Wall – package design, art

Track listing:

All tracks by David Byrne and Annie Clark, except where noted

  1. Who
  2. Weekend in the Dust
  3. Dinner for Two
  4. Ice Age – Annie Clark
  5. I Am an Ape
  6. The Forest Awakes – David Byrne, Annie Clark, Walt Whitman
  7. I Should Watch TV
  8. Lazarus
  9. Optimist
  10. Lightning
  11. The One Who Broke Your Heart
  12. Outside of Space & Time – David Byrne


On August 14, 1971.

Whos next

On August 14, 1971, “Track” label released “Who’s Next”, the fifth Who studio album. It was recorded April -June 1971, at the “Olympic Studios” and “Stargroves” (Rolling Stones Mobile Studio)  in London, and was produced by Glyn Johns, Roger Daltrey, Pete Townshend, John Entwistle and Keith Moon. The album was developed from Pete Townshend’s aborted multi-media rock opera “Lifehouse”, written as a follow-up to 1969 album “Tommy”. “Lifehouse” was cancelled due to its complexity and conflicts with band’s manager Kit Lambert, but Townshend was insisting to record the songs and they finally appeared as “Who’s next”, as a straightforward studio album.


  • Roger Daltrey– vocals
  • Keith Moon– drums, percussion
  • John Entwistle– vocals, bass, brass, piano
  • Pete Townshend– vocals, guitar, VCS3, organ, R.P. synthesiser, piano
  • Dave Arbus– violin
  • Nicky Hopkins– piano
  • Al Kooper– organ
  • Leslie West– lead guitar

Track listing:

All tracks by Pete Townshend, except  where noted.

  1. Baba o’Riley
  2. Bargain
  3. Love Ain’t for Keeping
  4. My Wife – John Entwistle
  5. The Song is Over
  6. Getting it True
  7. Going Mobile
  8. Behind Blue Eyes
  9. Won’t Get Fooled Again