Tag Archives: Tippy Armstrong

On May 16, 1979.

On May 16, 1979, “Asylum” label released “Laminar Flow”, the twenty first Roy Orbison album. It was recorded in 1979, and was produced by Clayton Ivey and Terry Woodford.


  1. Roy Orbison – vocals
  2. Larry Byrom – acoustic guitar
  3. Mac McAnally – acoustic guitar
  4. Bill Hinds, Robert Byrne, Tippy Armstrong – guitar
  5. Clayton Ivey – keyboards
  6. Bob Wray, Lonnie Ledford – bass guitar
  7. Lenny LeBlanc – drums, acoustic guitar, backing vocals
  8. Roger Clark – drums, synthesizer
  9. Mickey Buckins, Tom Roady – percussion
  10. Jim Horn – tenor and baritone saxophone
  11. Harvey Thompson – tenor saxophone
  12. Ronald Eades – baritone saxophone
  13. Harrison Calloway – trumpet
  14. Charles Rose – trombone
  15. Barbara Wyrick, Chris Price, Eddie Struzick, Marie Tomlinson, Robert Byrne, Suzy Storm, Terry Woodford – backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Easy Way Out – Jim Valentini, Frank Saulino, Spady Brannan
  2. Love Is a Cold Wind – Charlie Black, Rory Bourke
  3. Lay It Down – Robert Byrne, Tommy Brasfield
  4. I Care – Lenny LeBlanc, Eddie Struzick
  5. We’re into Something Good – George Soulé, Terry Woodford
  6. Movin’ – Roy Orbison, Chris Price
  7. Poor Baby – Roy Orbison, Chris Price, Regi Price
  8. Warm Spot Hot – Eddie Struzick
  9. Tears – Roy Orbison, Chris Price, Dan Price, Regi Price
  10. Friday Night – Regi Price, Chris Price
  11. Hound Dog Man – Barbara Orbison, Terry Woodford, Tommy Stuart

On January 11, 1974.

On January 11, 1974, “United Artists” label released “Lookin’ for a Love Again”, the sixth Bobby Womack studio album. It was recorded in 1973, at “Muscle Shoals Sound Studios” in  Muscle Shoals, Alabama, and was produced by Bobby Womack.


  • Bobby Womack – vocals, guitar, string arrangements
  • Pete Carr, Rhino Rheinardt, Tippy Armstrong – guitar
  • Jimmy Johnson- rhythm guitar
  • David Hood– bass
  • Barry Beckett, Clayton Ivey, Truman Thomas – keyboards
  • Roger Hawkins– drums
  • Friendly Womack, Jr., Curtis Womack, Cecil Womack, Harry Womack- background vocals
  • René Hall- string arrangements
  • Gregg Hamm, Jerry Masters, Karat Faye – engineer
  • John Kehe, Ria Lewerke – design

Track listing

All tracks by Bobby Womack; except where noted.

  1. Lookin’ for a Love – James Alexander, Zelda Samuels
  2. I Don’t Wanna Be Hurt by Ya Love Again
  3. Doing it My Way
  4. Let it Hang Out
  5. Point of No Return – Jim Ford
  6. You’re Welcome, Stop on By – Bobby Womack, Truman Thomas
  7. You’re Messing Up a Good Thing – Clayton Ivey, Frank Johnson, Terry Woodford
  8. Don’t Let me Down – Truman Thomas
  9. Copper Kettle – Albert Frank Beddoe
  10. There’s One Thing That Beats Failing – Bobby Womack, Truman Thomas

In July 1971.

In July 1971, “Stax” label released “Lovejoy”, the sixth Albert King studio album. It was recorded December 1970 – January 1971, and was produced by Don Nix.


  • Albert King– electric guitar, vocals
  • Jesse Edwin Davis, Tippy Armstrong, Wayne Perkins– guitar
  • John Gallie, Barry Beckett– keyboards
  • Donald “Duck” Dunn, David Hood– bass
  • Jim Keltner, Roger Hawkins – drums
  • Sandy Konikoff – percussion
  • Jeanne Green, The Mt. Zion Singers – background vocals

Track listing:

  1. Honky Tonk Woman – Mick Jagger, Keith Richards
  2. Bay Area Blues – Donald “Duck” Dunn, Don Nix
  3. Corrina, Corrina – Don Nix
  4. She Caught the Katy(And Left Me A Mule To Ride) – Taj Mahal, James Rachell
  5. For the Love of a Woman – Don Nix
  6. Lovejoy, III.-Don Nix
  7. Everybody Wants To Go To Heaven – Don Nix
  8. Going Back To Iuka – Don Nix
  9. Like A Road Leading Home – Don Nix, Dan Penn