Tag Archives: Don Robey

On June 15, 1977.

On June 15, 1977, “Chrysalis” label released “In City Dreams”, the fifth Robin Trower studio album. It was recorded in “Criteria Studios” in Miami, Florida, and was produced by Don Davis.


  • James Dewar – vocals
  • Robin Trower – guitar
  • Rustee Allen – bass
  • Bill Lordan – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Robin Trower and James Dewar, except where noted.

  1. Somebody Calling
  2. Sweet Wine of Love
  3. Bluebird
  4. Falling Star
  5. Farther On Up the Road – Don Robey, Joe Veasey
  6. Smile
  7. Little Girl
  8. Love’s Gonna Bring You Round
  9. In City Dreams

In August 1972.

In August 1972, “Palladium” label released “Smokin’ O.P.’s”, the fifth Bob Seger studio album. It was recorded in 1972, at “Pampa Studios” in Warren, Michigan, and was produced by Punch Andrews.The album cover design was by Thomas Leroy Weschler.


  • Bob Seger – guitar, piano, vocals
  • Jack Ashford- percussion, tambourine
  • Eddie Bongo – percussion, conga
  • Mike Bruce – guitar
  • Jim Bruzzese – tambourine
  • Crystal Jenkins – vocals, background vocals
  • Skip Knape – organ, bass, piano, keyboard
  • David Teegarden- drums, maracas, marimba
  • Pam Todd – vocals, background vocals
  • Engineer: Jim Bruzzese
  • Assistant engineer: Greg Miller
  • Mixing: Jim Cassily, Mabel Louise Smith, Thomas Weschler
  • Photography: Thomas Weschler, Peter Lumetta

Track listing:

  1. Bo Diddley/Who Do You Love? – Bo Diddley(Ellas McDaniel)
  2. Love the One You’re With – Stephen Stills
  3. If I Were a carpenter – Tim Hardin
  4. Hummin’ Bird – Leon Russell
  5. Let It Rock – Chuck Berry (E. Anderson)
  6. Turn on Your Love Light – Don Robey(Deadric Malone), Joseph Wade Scott
  7. Jesse James – traditional
  8. Someday – Bob Seger
  9. Heavy Music – Bob Seger


In July 1977.

In July 1977, “RCA” label released “Moody Blue”, the final Elvis Presley studio album. It was recorded February – October 1976, April 1977, and was produced by Felton Jarvis, Chick Crumpacker and Don Wardell. The album was a mixture of live and studio work, and included the four tracks from Presley’s final studio recording sessions in October 1976 and two tracks left over from the previous Graceland session in February 1976. The album was certified 2 x Platinum in Canada by “CRIA”, and 2 x Platinum in US by “RIIA”.


  • Elvis Presley – vocals, piano, guitars, executive producer
  • The Sweet Inspirations– background vocals
  • Sherrill Nielson – background vocals
  • Kathy Westmoreland – background vocals
  • D. Sumner& The Stamps – background vocals
  • Myrna Smith– background vocals
  • James Burton– lead guitar
  • John Wilkinson – rhythm guitar
  • Jerry Scheff– bass
  • Grayham Passmore – bass
  • David Briggs– keyboards
  • Ronnie Tutt– drums
  • Bergen White – string and horn arrangements
  • Don Wardell – executive producer
  • Dick Baxter – engineer

Track listing:

  1. Unchained Melody – Alex North, Hy Zaret
  2. If You Love Me (Let Me Know) – John Rostill
  3. Little Darlin’ – Maurice Williams
  4. Let Me Be There – John Rostill
  5. Way Down – Layng Martine, Jr.
  6. Pledging My Love – Don Robey, Ferdinand Washington
  7. Moody Blue – Mark James
  8. She Thinks I Still Care – Dickey Lee, Steve Duffy
  9. It’s Easy for You – Andrew Lloyd Webber, Tim Rice


In January 1973.


In January 1973, “Columbia” label released “Naked Songs”, the sixth and final Al Kooper album. It was recorded in 1972, at “New York City’s Record Plant” in New York City and at “Studio One” in Doraville, Georgia, and was produced by Al Kooper.


  • Al Kooper: piano,  organ,  guitars,  ARP synthesizer,  harpsichord,  electric bass
  • John Paul Fetta: electric bass
  • Junior Hanley:drums
  • Charlie Brown: guitar
  • Paul Goddard: bass
  • Barry Bailey: guitar
  • R. Cobb: guitar
  • Robert Nix: drums
  • Richard Greene:fiddle
  • Dean Daughtry: piano
  • Stuart Scharf: guitar
  • Maruga Booker:percussion
  • Linda November, Maeretha Stewart,Tasha Thomas, Eileen Gilbert, Patti Austin, Albertine Robinson, Michael Gately, Robert John – background vocals
  • Jimmy Wisner: string arrangements

Track listing:

All tracks by Al Kooper; except where noted.

  1. (Be Yourself) Be Real
  2. As the Years Go Passing By – Don Robey
  3. Jolie
  4. Blind Baby
  5. Been and Gone – Annette Peacock
  6. Sam Stone – John Prine
  7. Peacock Lady
  8. Touch the Hem of His Garment – Sam Cooke
  9. Where Were You When I Needed You – Irwin Levine, Al Kooper
  10. Unrequited