Tag Archives: Stephen Prina

On April 18, 2006.

On April 18, 2006, “Drag City” label released “Introduction”, the ninth Red Krayola album. It was recorded in August 2005, at “Soma E.M.S.” in Chicago, Illinois, and was produced by Drag City.


  • John McEntire– drums, synthesizer, ukulele, recording, mixing
  • Stephen Prina– vocals, guitar, harpsichord, piano, organ, tambourine
  • Mayo Thompson– vocals, guitar
  • Tom Watson – vocals, bass guitar, guitar, harpsichord, synthesizer
  • Charlie Abel – accordion
  • Noel Kupersmith – bass guitar, photography
  • Roger Seibel – mastering
  • Dan Osborne – illustration
  • Chris Strong – photography

Track listing:

All lyrics by Mayo Thompson, all music by John McEntire, Stephen Prina, Mayo Thompson and Tom Watson.

  1. Introduction
  2. Breakout
  3. Cruise Boat
  4. Note to Selves
  5. F.G.
  6. A Tale of Two
  7. Psy Ops
  8. It Will Be (Delivered)
  9. Puff
  10. Greasy Street
  11. Vexations
  12. Elegy
  13. When She Went Swimming
  14. Swerving
  15. Bling Bling

On November 19, 1996.

On November 19, 1996, “Drag City” label released “Hazel”, the seventh Red Krayola album.


  • Werner Büttner
  • Michael Baldwin
  • David Grubbs
  • George Hurley
  • Lynn Johnston
  • Hei Han Khiang
  • John McEntire
  • Albert Oehlen
  • Jim O’Rourke
  • Stephen Prina
  • Elisa Randazzo
  • Mary Lass Stewart
  • Mayo Thompson
  • Tom Watson
  • Christopher Williams

Track listing:

  1. I’m So Blasé
  2. Duck & Cover
  3. Duke of Newcastle
  4. Decaf the Planet
  5. GAO
  6. Larking
  7. Jimmy Two Bad
  8. Falls
  9. We Feel Fine
  10. 5123881
  11. Hollywood
  12. Another Song, Another Satan
  13. Boogie
  14. Dad
  15. Father Abraham

On June 8, 1999.

On June 8, 1999, “Drag City” label released “Fingerpainting”, the eighth Red Krayola album.


  • Mayo Thompson
  • Frederick Barthelme
  • Steve Cunningham
  • David Grubbs
  • Bobby Henschen
  • George Hurley
  • Albert Oehlen
  • Stephen Prina
  • Elisa Randazzo
  • Tom Watson
  • Christopher Williams
  • Sandy Yang

Track listing:

  1. George III
  2. Bad Medicine
  3. A Hybrid Creature of Greed, Ignorance and Powers of Comprehension Plays a Vaulted Drum Kit. The Playing Corresponds Completely to the Event. There Are Entrances and Exits. And There Is Gravitation, Where It Is Needed – Tears for Example
  4. There There Betty Betty
  5. The Greed of a Clarinet That Is Puffy from Crying Gets Tossed in Butter and Spread by Notes. This Process Depresses the Entire Orchestra So Much That It Only Plays Behind a Golden Partition. The Partition Is Decorated With Semi-Precious Attractive Diamonds
  6. Vile Vile Grass
  7. A Sow With an Abbess’s Bonnet Is Sitting on Four Rock-Objects and Singing Along With Them. The Song Sounds Like a Cheater, And Is Imprisoned in a Striped Toy Box Because Its Aims Are Not Recognizable. On Top of the Box Is a Head That Could Be Elvis’s, If He Had Survived This
  8. Mother
  9. Out of a Trombone That Is Divided Lengthways by a Partition of Gold Sound Seven Violins of Dynamite That Are Cut Sideways into Thin Slices. They Are Played by the Thrown Out Ex-Members of a Very Bad Band and Blown Up
  10. In My Baby’s Ruth, Sandy’s Drums With David & Shadwell, Filthy Lucre