In November 1967.

In November 1967, “Verve” label released “The Blues Is Now”, the twenty-eight Jimmy Witherspoon album. It was recorded on June 1, 1967, and was produced by Ken Druker and Lew Futterman.


  • Jimmy Witherspoon- vocals
  • Jack McDuff- arranger, organ
  • Leo Johnson, Danny Turner – alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, flute
  • Melvin Sparks- guitar
  • Jymie Merritt- bass guitar
  • Ray Appleton- drums
  • Hollis King- art direction
  • Nancy Reiner- cover art
  • Acy Lehman- cover design
  • Val Valentin– engineer
  • Ken Druker- executive producer
  • Bob Irwin, Jayme Pieruzzi– mastering
  • Raymond Ross- photography

Track listing:

  1. Sweet Slumber – Lucky Millinder, Al J. Neiburg, Henri Woode
  2. I’m Gonna Move to the Outskirts of Town – Andy Razaf, Will Weldon
  3. Past Forty Blues – Robert Lee Roach, Jimmy Witherspoon
  4. K. Blues – Saunders King
  5. Late One Evening – Jimmy Witherspoon
  6. Part Time Woman – Jimmy Witherspoon
  7. Good Rocking Tonight – Roy Brown
  8. I Won’t Tell a Soul (I Love You) – Hughie Clark, Ross Parker
  9. My Baby’s Quit Me – Doc Pomus
  10. My Money’s Long This Morning, Baby – David Parker

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.