Tag Archives: Hérouville

In May 1976.

In May 1976, “A&M” label released “No Earthly Connection”, the fourth Rick Wakeman solo album. It was recorded January-March 1976, at “Château d’Hérouville” in Herouville, France, and was produced by Rick Wakeman.


  • Rick Wakeman – Mander pipe organ, Hammond C3 organ, 9′ Steinwaygrand piano, RMI Electra piano, Hohner clavinet, Moog synthesizer, Baldwin electric harpsichord, upright honky-tonk piano, Fender Rhodes 88 electric piano,  Mellotron, Godwin organ with Sisme Rotary-Cabinet, Systech effects pedals
  • Ashley Holt – vocals
  • Roger Newell – bass guitar, bass pedals, vocals
  • John Dunsterville – acousticand electric guitars, mandolin, vocals
  • Tony Fernandez– drums, percussion
  • Martyn Shields – trumpet, flugelhorn, French horn, vocals
  • Reg Brooks – trombone, bass trombone, vocals
  • Paul Tregurtha – engineer
  • Didier Utard – assistant engineer
  • Toby Errington – crew in France
  • Jake Berry – crew in France
  • John Cleary – crew in England
  • Tony Merrell – crew in England
  • Tony Powell – crew in England
  • Fabio Nicoli – art direction
  • Mike Doud – concept, design
  • Chris Moore – cover illustrations
  • Geoff Halpin – logo design
  • George Snow – inner sleeve design
  • Mike Putland – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Rick Wakeman.

  1. Music Reincarnate

Part I: The Warning

Part II: The Maker

Part III: The Spaceman

Part IV: The Realisation

  1. Music Reincarnate (Continued)

Part V: The Reaper

  1. The Prisoner
  2. The Lost Cycle



In February 1974.


In February 1974, “RCA” label released “Slaughter on 10th Avenue”, the debut Mick Ronson album. It was recorded in July 1973, at “Château d’Hérouville” in Hérouville, France, and “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by Mick Ronson.


  • Mick Ronson– guitar, piano, vocals, arrangement, conductor
  • Trevor Bolder– bass, trumpet, trombone
  • Aynsley Dunbar– drums, percussion
  • Mike Garson– piano, electric piano, organ
  • David Hentschel– ARP
  • Margaret Ronson – backing vocals
  • Dennis MacKay – engineer, backing vocals
  • Sidney Sax – strings
  • Leee Black Childers – cover

Track listing:

  1. Love Me Tender – George R. Poulton,Ken Darby
  2. Growing Up and I’m Fine – David Bowie
  3. Only After Dark – Mick Ronson, Scott Richardson
  4. Music Is Lethal – Lucio Battisti, English lyrics by Bowie
  5. I’m the One – Annette Peacock
  6. Pleasure Man / Hey Ma Get Papa – Mick Ronson, Scott Richardson, David Bowie
  7. Slaughter on Tenth Avenue – Richard Rodgers


On September 27, 1972.


On September 27, 1972, “Island” label released “Catch Bull at Four”, the sixth Cat Stevens studio album. It was recorded in May 1972, at “The Manor Studio” in Oxfordshire; “Château d’Hérouville” in Hérouville, France; “Morgan Studios” in London, and was produced by Paul Samwell-Smith. The album was certified Platinum in the US by “RIIA”.


  • Cat Stevens– lead and backing vocals, piano, Fender Rhodes electric piano, Wurlitzer electric piano, minimoog, Böhm Diamond organ, Spanish guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, electric mandolin, RMI Electra piano, synthesizer, penny whistle, drums, percussion
  • Alun Davies– acoustic guitar, Spanish guitar, backing vocals
  • Alan James – bass,backing vocals
  • Jean Roussel– piano, Hammond organ
  • Gerry Conway– drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Andreas Toumazis –bouzouki
  • S. Choir – backing vocals
  • Linda Lewis– backing vocals
  • Lauren Cooper – backing vocals
  • Del Newman –string arrangements
  • Jeremy Taylor– Spanish guitar

Track listing:

All tracks by Cat Stevens except where noted.

  1. Sitting
  2. Boy with a Moon & Star on His Head
  3. Angelsea
  4. Silent Sunlight
  5. Can’t Keep It In
  6. 18th Avenue (Kansas City Nightmare)
  7. Freezing Steel
  8. O Caritas – Andreas Toumazis,Jeremy Taylor, Cat Stevens
  9. Sweet Scarlet
  10. Ruins

On June 18, 1982.


On June 18, 1982, “Warner Bros” label released “Mirage”, the thirteen Fleetwood Mac studio album. It was recorded and mixed 1981 – 1982, at “Le Château”  in  Hérouville, France, “Larrabee Sound Studios” , “The Record Plant”, “George Massenburg Labs”in Los Angeles, and was produced by Fleetwood Mac, Richard Dashut and Ken Caillat. “Mirage” was certified Platinum in UK by the “BPI”, Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”,  2 x Platinum in the US by the “RIIA” and 2 x Platinum in Australia by the “ARIA”.


  • Lindsey Buckingham– guitar, vocals, additional keyboards, lap harp
  • Stevie Nicks– vocals
  • Christine McVie– keyboards, vocals
  • John McVie– bass guitar
  • Mick Fleetwood– drums, percussion
  • Ray Lindsey – additional guitar
  • Engineered by:Richard Dashut and Ken Caillat
  • Assistant Engineers: David Bianco, Carla Frederick

Track listing:

  1. Love in Store – Christine McVie, Jim Recor
  2. Can’t Go Back = Lindsey Buckingam
  3. That’s Alright – Stevie Nicks
  4. Book of Love – Lindsey Buckingham, Richard Dashut
  5. Only Over You – Christine McVie
  6. Empire State – Lindsey Buckingham, Richard Dashut
  7. Straight Back – Stevie Nicks
  8. Hold Me – Christine McVie, Robbie Patton
  9. Oh Diane – Lindsey Buckingham, Richard Dashut
  10. Eyes of the World – Lindsey Buckingham
  11. Wish You Were Here – Christine McVie, Colin Allen

On June 2, 1972.

Obscured by clouds

On June 2, 1972, “Harvest” label released “Obscured by Clouds” the seventh Pink Floyd studio album. It was recorded February – April 1972, at “Strawberry Studios” in Château d’Hérouville, Hérouville, and was produced by Pink Floyd. The album is based on their soundtrack for the French film “La Vallée”, by Barbet Schroeder.


  • David Gilmour– guitars, vocals, pedal steel guitar, VCS3 synthesizer
  • Nick Mason– drums, percussion, tape effects
  • Roger Waters– bass guitar, vocals, VCS3 synthesizer, tape effects
  • Richard Wright– piano, keyboards, vocals, VCS3 synthesizer
  • Hipgnosis– album cover

Track listing:

  1. Obscured by Clouds – David Gilmour, Roger Waters
  2. When You’re In – David Gilmour, Roger Waters, Nick Mason, Richard Wright
  3. Burning Bridges – Richard Wright, Roger Waters
  4. The Gold is in the…- David Gilmour, Roger Waters
  5. Wot’s…Uh the Deal? – David Gilmour, Roger Waters
  6. Mudmen – Richard Wright, Roger Waters
  7. Childhood’s End – David Gilmour
  8. Free Four – Roger Waters
  9. Stay – Roger Waters, Richard Wright
  10. Absolutely Curtains – David Gilmour, Roger Waters, Richard Wright, Nick Mason