Tag Archives: Mike Doud

In December 1973.

In December 1973, “A&M” label released the debut, self-titled The Ozark Mountain Daredevils album. It was recorded in 1973, and was produced by Glyn Johns and David Anderle.


  • Steve Cash- harmonica, harpsichord, percussion, vocals
  • John Dillon – guitar, mandolin, fiddle, dulcimer, autoharp, keyboards, percussion, vocals
  • Larry Lee – guitar, keyboards, drums, percussion, vocals, saw
  • Randle Chowning- guitar, harmonica, vocals
  • Michael Granda – bass, percussion, vocals
  • Buddy Brayfield – piano, keyboards
  • Jack Black, Elizabeth Anderson, Sidney Cash, Janet Lee, Donald Bromage – backing vocals
  • Glyn Johns – recording engineer
  • Mike Doud – art direction
  • Bill Higgins, Jeremy Parkin – photography
  • Mike Dempsey – linear notes

Track listing:

  1. Country Girl – Randle Chowning
  2. Spaceship Orion – Larry Lee
  3. If You Wanna Get to Heaven – Steve Cash, John Dillon
  4. Chicken Train – Steve Cash
  5. Colorado Song – Steve Cash, John Dillon
  6. Standin’ on the Rock – John Dillon
  7. Road to Glory – Randle Chowning
  8. Black Sky – Steve Cash
  9. Within Without – Larry Lee
  10. Beauty in the River – John Dillon

In May 1976.

In May 1976, “A&M” label released “No Earthly Connection”, the fourth Rick Wakeman solo album. It was recorded January-March 1976, at “Château d’Hérouville” in Herouville, France, and was produced by Rick Wakeman.


  • Rick Wakeman – Mander pipe organ, Hammond C3 organ, 9′ Steinwaygrand piano, RMI Electra piano, Hohner clavinet, Moog synthesizer, Baldwin electric harpsichord, upright honky-tonk piano, Fender Rhodes 88 electric piano,  Mellotron, Godwin organ with Sisme Rotary-Cabinet, Systech effects pedals
  • Ashley Holt – vocals
  • Roger Newell – bass guitar, bass pedals, vocals
  • John Dunsterville – acousticand electric guitars, mandolin, vocals
  • Tony Fernandez– drums, percussion
  • Martyn Shields – trumpet, flugelhorn, French horn, vocals
  • Reg Brooks – trombone, bass trombone, vocals
  • Paul Tregurtha – engineer
  • Didier Utard – assistant engineer
  • Toby Errington – crew in France
  • Jake Berry – crew in France
  • John Cleary – crew in England
  • Tony Merrell – crew in England
  • Tony Powell – crew in England
  • Fabio Nicoli – art direction
  • Mike Doud – concept, design
  • Chris Moore – cover illustrations
  • Geoff Halpin – logo design
  • George Snow – inner sleeve design
  • Mike Putland – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Rick Wakeman.

  1. Music Reincarnate

Part I: The Warning

Part II: The Maker

Part III: The Spaceman

Part IV: The Realisation

  1. Music Reincarnate (Continued)

Part V: The Reaper

  1. The Prisoner
  2. The Lost Cycle


In February 1976.

In February 1976, “Harvest” label released “Sunburst Finish”, the third Be-Bop Deluxe studio album. It was recorded in 1975, and was produced by John Leckie and Bill Nelson. The cover art concept was by Mike Doud, the cover photograph was by John Thornton.


  • Bill Nelson- lead vocals, electric and 12-string guitars
  • Andy Clark- keyboards, synthesizer
  • Charlie Tumahai- bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Simon Fox- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Nelson

  1. Fair Exchange
  2. Heavenly Homes
  3. Ships in the Night
  4. Crying to the Sky
  5. Sleep That Burns
  6. Beauty Secrets
  7. Life in the Air Age
  8. Like an Old Blues
  9. Crystal Gazing
  10. Blazing Apostles

In December 1975.


In December 1975, “RCA” label released “Heaven and Hell”, the sixth Vangelis studio album. It was recorded in September 1975, at “Nemo Studios” in London, and was produced by Vangelis.


  • Vangelis– synthesizers, Bösendorfer grand piano, percussion, arranger
  • Jon Anderson– lead vocals
  • Vana Veroutis – lead vocals
  • English Chamber Choir– choir
  • Guy Protheroe– conductor
  • Alan Lucas – sound engineer
  • Geoff Halpin – logo design
  • Mike Doud – sleeve concept
  • Paul Wakefield – photographer

Track listing:

All tracks by Vangelis, except where noted.

  1. Heaven and Hell Part I
  2. Bacchanale
  3. Symphony to the Powers B” (Movements 1 and 2)
  4. Movement 3″ (from “Symphony to the Powers B”)
  5. So Long Ago, So Clear – lyrics by Jon Anderson
  6. Heaven and Hell Part II”
  • Intestinal Bat
  • Needles & Bones
  • 12 O’Clock (in two parts)
  • Aries”
  • A Way


On February 24, 1975.


On February 25, 1975, “Swan Song” label released “Physical Graffiti”, the sixth studio Led Zeppelin album. The double album was recorded July – December 1970, January and March 1971, May 1972, January and February 1974, at multiple locations, and was produced by Jimmy Page. The album included unreleased tracks from earlier recording sessions: one outtake from “Led Zeppelin III”, three tracks from “Led Zeppelin IV”, and three tracks from “Houses of the Holy”, including the unused title track. “Physical Graffiti” was certified 16× Platinum in the US by “RIAA”, and 2× Platinum in UK by “BPI”. In 1996, “Mojo” magazine ranked the album at number 47 on its list of “The 100 Greatest Albums Ever Made”; in 2000, “Q” magazine ranked the album at number 32 on its list of the “100 Greatest British Albums Ever”; in 2001 “Classic Rock” magazine ranked the album at number 5 at its list of  “100 Greatest Rock Album Ever”; in 2003, the TV network  “VH1” named it the 71st “Greatest album ever”; in 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Physical Graffiti” at number 70 on its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”; in 2006 “Guitar World” magazine ranked the album at number 9 at its list of “Reader’s Poll: 100 Greatest Guitar Albums”.  In 1976, the album won “Grammy Award for Best Recording Package”.


  • John Bonham– drums, percussion
  • John Paul Jones– bass guitar, organ, acoustic and electric piano, mellotron, guitar, mandolin, VCS3 synthesiser, Hohner clavinet, Hammond organ, string arrangement
  • Jimmy Page– electric, acoustic, lap steel and slide guitar, mandolin
  • Robert Plant– lead vocals, harmonica, acoustic guitar
  • Ian Stewart– piano
  • Peter Corriston– artwork, design, cover design
  • Mike Doud – artwork, design, cover design
  • Elliot Erwitt, P. Fallon, Roy Harper– photography
  • Dave Heffernan – illustrations

Track listing:

All tracks by Jimmy Page and Robert Plant, except where noted.

  1. Custard Pie
  2. The Rover
  3. In My Time of Dying – John Bonham, John Paul Jones, Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  4. Houses of the Holy
  5. Trampled Under Foot – John Paul Jones, Robert Plant
  6. Kashmir – John Bonham, Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  7. In the Light – John Paul Jones, Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  8. Bron-Yr-Aur – Jimmy Page
  9. Down by the Seaside
  10. Ten Years Gone
  11. Night Flight – John Paul Jones, Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  12. The Wanton Song
  13. Boogie with Stu – John Bonham, John Paul Jones, Robert Plant, Jimmy Page, Ian Stewart
  14. Black Country Woman
  15. Sick Again