On August 17, 1979.


On August 17, 1979, “Virgin” label released “Drums and Wires”, the third XTC studio album . It was recorded June–July 1979, at “The Town House” in London, and was produced by Steve Lillywhite.


  • Andy Partridge – vocals, guitars, synthesizers
  • Dave Gregory – guitars, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Colin Moulding – vocals, bass
  • Terry Chambers – drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Andy Partridge, Colin Moulding, Dave Gregory, Terry Chambers, Steve Warren, Hugh Padgham, Al Clark, Jumbo Van Reinen – Vernon Yard Male Voice Choir
  • Dick Cuthell – trumpet

Track listing:

All tracks by Andy Partridge, except where noted.

  1. Making Plans for Nigel – Colin Moulding
  2. Helicopter
  3. Day in Day Out – Colin Moulding
  4. When You’re Near Me I Have Difficulty
  5. Ten Feet Tall – Colin Moulding
  6. Roads Girdie the Globe
  7. Real by Real
  8. Millions
  9. That is the Way – Colin Moulding
  10. Outside World
  11. Scissor Man
  12. Complicated Game

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.