On May 9, 1980.

Bass Culture

On May 9, 1980, “Island” label released “Bass Culture”, the third Linton Kwesi Johnson album. It was recorded at “Gooseburry Sound Studios” in London, and was produced by Linton Kwesi Johnson and Dennis Bowel.


  • Linton Kwesi Johnson – vocals
  • Dick Cuthell, Henry “Buttons” Tenyue – flugelhorn
  • John Kpiaye – guitar
  • Julio Finn – harmonica
  • Dennis Bowell – keyboards, engineer, mixing
  • Webster Johnson – keyboards
  • Floyd Lawson , Vivian Weathers – bass
  • Lloyd “Jah Bunny” Donaldson, Winston Curniffe – drums
  • Clinton Bailey, Everald “Fari” Forrest, Lloyd “Jah Bunny” Donaldson – percussion
  • James Danton – alto saxophone
  • Henry “Buttons” Tenyue – tenor saxophone
  • Rico – trombone
  • Dick Cuthell, Henry “Buttons” Tenyue – trumpet
  • John Caffrey, Mark Angelo Lusardy – engineer
  • Dennis Morris – sleeve concept, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Linton Kwesi Johnson

  1. Bass Culture
  2. Street 66
  3. Reggae fi Peach
  4. Di Black Petty Booshwah
  5. Inglan Is a Bitch
  6. Loraine
  7. Reggae Sounds
  8. Two Sides of Silence

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.