Johnny Griffin and Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis: Tough Tenors

In December 1960, “Jazzland” label released “Tough Tenors”, an album by Johnny Griffin and Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis. It was recorded in November 1960, at “Plaza Sound Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Orrin Keepnews.


  • Johnny Griffin – tenor saxophone
  • Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis – tenor saxophone 
  • Junior Mance – piano
  • Larry Gales – bass
  • Ben Riley – drums

Track listing:

  1. Tickle Toe – Lester Young
  2. Save Your Love for Me – Buddy Johnson
  3. Twins – Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis, Johnny Griffin
  4. Funky Fluke – Bennie Green
  5. Imagination – Johnny Burke, Jimmy Van Heusen
  6. Soft Winds – Benny Goodman, Fletcher Henderson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.