Hank Mobley: Newark 1953

On April 17, 2012, “Uptown Records” label released “Newark 1953”, album by Hank Mobley. It was recorded in September 1953, at “The Picadilly Club” in New Jersey, and was produced by Robert E. Sunenblick.


  • Hank Mobley – tenor sax
  • Bennie Green – trombone
  • Walter Davis Jr. – piano
  • Jimmy Schenck – bass
  • Charli Persip – drums
  • Ozzie Cadena – recording

Track listing:

  1. Ow – John Birks Gillespie
  2. There’s a Small Hotel – Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers
  3. Ballad Medley: Damn That Dream / Where or When / In Love in Vain / Stardust – Hoagy Carmichael, Eddie DeLange, Lorenz Hart, James Van Heusen, Jerome Kern, Mitchell Parish, Leo Robin, Richard Rodgers
  4. All the Things You Are – Oscar Hammerstein II, Jerome Kern
  5. Jumpin’ with Symphony Sid – Lester Young
  6. Announcement
  7. Lullaby of Birdland – George Shearing
  8. Embraceable You – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin
  9. Keen and Peachy – Ralph Burns, Shorty Rogers
  10. Pennies from Heaven – Johnny Burke, Arthur Johnston
  11. Blues Is Green – Bennie Green
  12. ‘S Wonderful – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.