On October 17, 2000.

On October 17, 2000, “EMI” label released “Down in the Cellar”, the fourteenth Al Stewart studio album. It was recorded May – June 2000, at “Capitol B Studios” in Hollywood and “Sign of the Scorpion” in Studio City, California, and was produced by Laurence Juber.


  • Al Stewart – vocals, guitar, bass, harmonica
  • Simon Boswell – viola
  • Jim Cox – piano, organ
  • Bruce Dukov – violin
  • Dominic Genova – electric bass, bass
  • Jimmy Hoyson – assistant
  • David P. Jackson – accordion
  • Michael Jochum – percussion, drums
  • Laurence Juber – acoustic guitar, arranger, electric guitar, engineer
  • David Low – cello
  • Rachel Purkin – violin
  • Avi Kipper – engineer
  • Joe Gastwirt – mastering
  • Ramon Breton – mastering assistant
  • Lori Stoll – photography

All tracks by Al Stewart except where noted.

  1. Waiting for Margaux
  2. Tasting History – Laurence Juber, Al Stewart
  3. Down in the Cellars
  4. Turning It into Water
  5. Soho – Bert Jansch
  6. The Night That the Band Got the Wine
  7. Millie Brown
  8. Under a Wine-Stained Moon
  9. Franklin’s Table
  10. House of Clocks
  11. Sergio
  12. Toutes les Etoiles
  13. The Shiraz Shuffle – Laurence Juber, Al Stewar



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.